Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2010, 09:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default Asus A7PRO display problem

Problem:
-power system on
-CPU fan spins
-No display
-No beeps

Info:
-Ram tested good
-PSU tested good
-CPU tested good
-video card tested good (tried multiple also, one in PCI slot, one in AGP slot)
-Motherboard power light on
-Monitor tested good
-Motherboard set to bios mode.
-also tried manual configuration 100MHz FSB and 10x multiplier
-also tried manual configuration 133MHz FSB and 10.5x multiplier

Equipment:
-Athlon XP 1600+
-Asus A7PRO rev. 1.04

Thanks in advance for your help guys. I've been at this for a while with no solution. If you have any questions or need more information, please ask.

Here's a link to the motherboard manual: http://www.bcom.de/ftp/treiber/Asu [...] ro-102.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2010, 04:04 PM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

Just asking, how do you know you ram is good. I am wondering because this happened to me twice and twice the ram was faulty. It might be only one of your sticks that is at fault, have you tested each of them ?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2010, 06:57 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default

^ Yes. They both came right out of my working pentium III system. I even tried just one or the other just to be sure. I put them back in the PIII system, and they work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2010, 07:22 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

Just so we're clear..... you've tried both an AGP and a PCI vid card and you're still not getting a post?

That link isn't working..... is this one of the early boards that required you to set clock speeds with jumpers? Definitely sounds like the CPU isn't getting through post on the motherboard.... If the cpu posts on another board, maybe the motherboard is toast.....

Hopefully this link to the manual PDF will work....

http://www.bcom.de/ftp/treiber/Asus/.../a7pro-102.pdf

Specs for the proc....

AMD Athlon XP 1600+ - AX1600DMT3C

Looks like it should be 133 / 10.5 / 1.75 Vcore.

Sounds like you found the bus speed and multiplier settings... did you do the manual voltage adjustments as well? (I'm assuming that you've verified that you've also disabled the jumperless settings).

edit: This is bringing me back a long ways!!!! seems to me that's the board I fried my 1G thunderbird on...... ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; July 5, 2010 at 07:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2010, 08:39 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

Did you have any luck with this?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2010, 01:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Did you have any luck with this?
Nope. I've already tried everything you mentioned. And actually, since I posted, I tried booting the CPU in another computer. The computer doesn't officially support the model so it wouldn't do anything past post but it would post and I could get into the bios. Sigh, looks like I'll be looking into another motherboard for it. Know any good electronics junkyards where they actually let you in and take anything you want?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2010, 01:53 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

Socket A/462?

Where are you located? I might have a local source @ $10 for a new motherboard.... if so I can ship it to you if you can do emt to me for the money.....
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2010, 08:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Socket A/462?

Where are you located? I might have a local source @ $10 for a new motherboard.... if so I can ship it to you if you can do emt to me for the money.....
I can't do emt.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus O!Play R3 windows 7 sharing problem tedeum HTPC Systems & Software 3 April 16, 2010 08:28 AM
Asus P5Q Pro RAID Problem Rison Troubleshooting 6 September 2, 2009 01:14 PM
Asus 4890 Problem Cowboy Video Cards 2 July 9, 2009 04:29 AM
Secondary USB Display not working with ASUS Video card Brad P Troubleshooting 1 May 23, 2009 06:48 AM
No Boot/display on brand new Asus P5N-MX board the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 17 June 18, 2008 02:55 AM