Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2010, 06:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default Amd CPU and Nvidia Graphics (Stupid?)

I'm thinking about pairing an AMD Phenom II (1055T) CPU with a GeForce GTX 470 video card. Is that just plain stupid? If not, can you recommend a motherboard?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2010, 07:00 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,805

My System Specs

Default

Why would it be stupid? I see nothing wrong w/ it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2010, 07:02 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

no it's not a bad idea at all if that's what you want if i was going to buy amd for my self right know it would be NCIX.com - Buy ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 DDR3 ATX AMD 890FX 4PCI-E16 2PCI CrossFireX 6 SATA 6GB/S Motherboard - CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA In Canada.

jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2010, 07:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

I guess I was thinking that it might be stupid because AMD doesn't seem to support SLI and that would make a future upgrade to two GTX 470's impossible. My problem is that I already have the GTX 470 and I have no idea what cpu/mobo to build around it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2010, 07:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for the link Gingerbee!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2010, 07:38 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Actually AMD + NVIDIA works way too well for some odd reason.

SLI is possible on AMD boards but are limited.

Here are some great boards for SLI.

NCIX.com - Buy ASUS M4N82 Deluxe nForce 980A SLI ATX Socket AM2 3PCI-E16 1PCI-E1 1PCI Sound GBLAN Motherboard - M4N82 DELUXE In Canada.

NCIX.com - Buy MSI NF980-G65 ATX AM3 nForce 980A SLI DDR3 3XPCI-E16 2XPCI-E 2XPCI SATA RAID GBLAN Audio Motherboard - NF980-G65 In Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2010, 07:44 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

till some time ago, amd cpu + nv graphics resulted in higher lows, with prev gen....dont think the trend followed with fermi(most reviewers have core i7 8 core or something to test so a comparison, direct, is a bit hard)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 01:08 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Crosshair IV extreme will have a Lucid chip onboard no? That = SLI or even a mix if you want.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2010, 06:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Crosshair IV extreme will have a Lucid chip onboard no? That = SLI or even a mix if you want.
That's assuming the Lucid chip actually works, rather than providing even worse performance than with a single card as it has done in previous testing.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 09:49 AM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

You want to drop $260 into an AMD mobo?! Why pay more than $150 for an AMD mobo?

If you're ready for that kind of cash, just build an LGA1366 setup and you're done.

The 1055T is a fun CPU though. I just bought that and put into one of my cottage PCs for fun. It's running on an old Gigabyte MA78GM-US2H mATX mobo. LOL the $75 mobo runs and OCs it perfectly fine.

I've got a light OC of 3.3GHz with Turbo mode off at 1.3V. I could probably go lower too...all without dropping $260 on a glorified Asus mobo with colorful heatsinks.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Next Nvidia graphics card? Schnerf Video Cards 11 August 19, 2009 05:21 PM
Nvidia Finally Makes Mobile Graphics Drivers Available Thund3rball Mobile Computing 0 December 18, 2008 10:15 AM
First Look: NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT 55nm Graphics Cards MAC Press Releases & Tech News 11 July 9, 2008 06:42 PM
NVIDIA To Release GeForce 9800 GTX+ Graphics Card MAC Press Releases & Tech News 21 June 22, 2008 06:04 AM
Get your new NVidia Graphics drivers here: Forceware 158 Babrbarossa Video Cards 6 June 2, 2007 08:58 PM