Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2010, 12:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 197

My System Specs

Smile Good within windows software to overclock CPU?

Hey guys i was just wondering if there was any progress in the field of overclocking a CPU using software within windows. Last I heard there were a couple of applications out there, all with poor stability though :(
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2010, 02:17 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,496

My System Specs

Default

Are you wanting to overclock with software for any particular reason? If you're looking to tinker around, then that's fine, but everything else should be done under BIOS.

Edited by sswilson to keep post on-topic. (OP mentioned that he posted this in the wrong spot)
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.

Last edited by sswilson; May 30, 2010 at 08:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2010, 04:51 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

if your OC just do it from the bios software can mess things up and it easier once you start to know what your doing.

A member here thought he would post benchmarks based on a "setfsb" overclock then he only tells us a little info then wants people to guess. My point is if he would have said in the beginning that he's using a crap software like (setfsb) most if not all of the member's would have told him what he wanted to know but because he only gave part of the info and left out really important stuff, like i use crap software this is what's causing he's problem. this is one of many reason's i say start in the bios to avoid stupid mistakes like this.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris

Last edited by gingerbee; May 29, 2010 at 04:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2010, 09:16 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

setfsb and a few others used to be popular in the day...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2010, 08:49 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Back on topic.......

OC software can be useful to allow you to find the OC limits to your gear, and/or for benchmark runs, but unless it's something which includes the ability to bump voltages up as well as FSB (like the software which came with the motherboard, and/or something like the AMD overdrive software) it's really not much use.

If you're looking for something to set a 24/7 OC, you really want to do it through bios, and don't forget to do baby steps.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2010, 09:33 AM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

What CPU are you using? If your rolling an AMD, i would more than highly reccommend using AMD Overdrive. Real good for first time overclockers.

It also has the ability to find your max posible overclock and stress test your overclocks as well, which is essential when finding stability!
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 12:01 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 197

My System Specs

Default

Ahhh i c, still seems to be a pretty stale area. I'm with Intel, so i guess its just sticking to standard bios overclocking for me. Isn't too much of an issue i guess, the Q9550's still holding up well against newer applications :D
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 07:15 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

The BIOS has come a long way. Some boards nowadays show you exact frequencies that you're entering, so you can see how far you're pushing your chip. There's no longer a need for a calculator anymore really.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2010, 02:23 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

You have a popular CPU + board, just ask around and some people will likely give you some useful settings.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good audio software? Polygon O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 October 31, 2009 09:17 PM
installing windows 7 through mounting software? lanken123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 May 5, 2009 09:19 PM
overclock software for old computer CTA Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 December 16, 2008 07:54 PM
Need a good mobo to overclock my 4200+ Scart CPU's and Motherboards 5 March 15, 2008 12:24 PM
Good tax software? Babrbarossa Off Topic 4 February 16, 2007 05:19 AM