Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 09:59 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default 800 Series Chipsets Support What CPUs?

I need some help guys. Is this correct or wrong? If it's not right, can someone give me the right answer? I also need to expand on this by another sentence or two, but not sure what to put since I suddenly became confused at this.

Quote:
AMD's 800-series chipsets support both socket AM2+ and AM3 CPUs since they both have a DDR3 memory controller.
Thanks!

In case you're wondering what this is for, it's for a presentation. I'll also need this info for when I purchase a Phenom II CPU to go with my Gigabyte GA-MA785-UD3H, I think...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 10:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ddr3 controller is in the am3 cpus, am2+ i think ddr2 only.

Socket AM3 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


Socket AM3

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to:navigation, search
Socket AM3 Type PGA-ZIF Chip form factors PGA Contacts 941[1][2] FSB protocol HyperTransport 3.x FSB frequency 200 MHz System clock
HyperTransport up to 3.2 GHz Processors Phenom II (AM3 only)
Athlon II
Sempron
Opteron (single-CPU) This article is part of the CPU socket series Socket AM3 is a CPU socket for AMD processors. It follows directly from Socket AM2+. AM3 was launched on February 9, 2009, alongside the initial grouping of Phenom II processors designed for it.[3] The sole principal change from AM2+ to AM3 is support for the AM3 processors' integrated memory controller, which now supports DDR3 in addition to DDR2.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 10:09 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Yea I checked Wikipedia and did a quick Google search before I made the tread. Made me even more confused, especially with the error WIkipedia had.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2010, 06:09 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Anyone?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2010, 06:24 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,617
Default

AM2 = No
AM2+ = No
AM3 = Yes
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2010, 06:32 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
AM2 = No
AM2+ = No
AM3 = Yes
So then this image is incorrect right?
Attached Images
 
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2010, 07:05 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,617
Default

You are correct. I will change that ASAP. No idea how that slipped through.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2010, 02:57 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
You are correct. I will change that ASAP. No idea how that slipped through.
Don't you need to know where I got the picture from?

And thanks for the help guys. Presenting tomorrow. It's going to be boring since it's so technical for an Accounting ISP.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2010, 03:43 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,617
Default

That is our picture. So I know where you got it. ;)
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kingston Discontinues SSDNow V-Series 40GB Due to Lack of TRIM Support SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 5 January 28, 2010 07:41 PM
Asus Prepping Support for Core-i9 CPUs FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 24 December 17, 2009 05:31 AM
HD 5000 series support when? Dr_BenD_over HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 November 10, 2009 03:58 AM
ASUS Claims Leadership in Support for Next Gen AMD CPUs Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 2, 2008 05:17 PM
AMD to launch 7 series chipsets in 2H07: Digitimes Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 1 June 16, 2007 12:42 PM