Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 01:13 PM
BobbyLou's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default Cool N' Quiet won't turn off?

So on the 890FX-GD70 I turned off C1E and Cool N Quiet in the Bios. Windows is running on High Performance power plan. Yet, sometimes in CPUZ I still see the processor throttling down to 800mhz. Is this just a bios bug or?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 02:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyLou View Post
So on the 890FX-GD70 I turned off C1E and Cool N Quiet in the Bios. Windows is running on High Performance power plan. Yet, sometimes in CPUZ I still see the processor throttling down to 800mhz. Is this just a bios bug or?
I could be wrong but I believe that's normal.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 03:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

What CPU? If this is a Thuban chip, did you turn off Turbo?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 04:07 PM
BobbyLou's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

yah its a 1090T, turbo is also turned off.


I was under the belief that Cool N Quiet was like Intels speedstep, if you turned it off the CPU would stay at its set frequency at all times.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 04:13 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

IF I remember correctly the newer chips have C n Q controlled by chip, no need to relied on separate drivers anymore. If you want it at fixed speed just manually set the multiplier.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 04:25 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,254
Default

Yeah, its my understanding its done at the core level now. IIRC its supposed to allow unused cores to go down in power state so the in use ones can overclock and still stay within its rated TDP.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 04:43 PM
BobbyLou's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

Yah, I no it is built in I turned it off in the bios, the multiplier is also set to 20x.

Maybe it's a CPUZ bug?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2010, 09:43 AM
BobbyLou's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

any more ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2010, 05:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Question: what do you care anyway? It's not like it makes a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2010, 07:07 PM
BobbyLou's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

Answer: because it is annoying when OC'ing?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zalman CNPS-10X Quiet – Bringing The Cool For Todays Modern CPU Soultribunal Press Releases & Tech News 7 July 11, 2009 10:08 AM
Q9550 to stock cool or custom cool? lKashl CPU's and Motherboards 11 June 11, 2009 04:33 AM
Safe to turn on johnnyuterus Troubleshooting 15 January 5, 2009 07:27 AM
My turn to ask for help Cptn Vortex Troubleshooting 17 March 23, 2008 01:05 PM
Cool and Quiet Hell Supergrover Troubleshooting 4 September 7, 2007 07:16 PM