Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 10:43 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 272

My System Specs

Default Upgrade Advice Needed

I am currently running a E8400 in a Gigabyte P35DS3L Rev2 motherboard along with 4x1GB OCZ Platinum PC6400 ram. I am toying with the idea of upgrading to one of the new AMD 6 core CPU's and a 890 motherboard. I would like to know if this would be a worthwhile upgrade, I do play games but I am more of a casual gamer now, (kids).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 11:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

nope. not a chance itll make that big of a difference in your case, unless multitasking sneaks up on you abruptly. that 5850 will treat you good.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2010, 02:42 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Default

ALL AM3 boards are compatible, we are just waiting for bios updates to added the code for support. That said, buy one of the 890 GX boards that are now out so you get full support of the X6 CPU.
__________________
ink cartridges
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2010, 03:09 AM
MonsterSound's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ
Posts: 691

My System Specs

Default

I agree that it won't make a great deal of difference in most cases (as _dangtx_ says).
Your 5850 does a good job already I'd bet.
But, if you're like me, and probably many on HWC, you'll go ahead and do it anyway
__________________
Code:
 my Heatware,  RFD &  eBay
MAIN: i5 3570 @ 4.5Ghz wH100 / evga GTX780 SOC / MSI Z77A-G45 / 8gb G.Skill 2133 1T / 30" 2560x1600 / Antec P280 / PCP&C 950w / Intel 520 SSD 240gb / Eclipse / G3-Lazer / z5300 / Win7 Pro64 / APC Xs1300
HTPC : nMedia6000B / AMD X2 4400+ / M2A-VM / Corsair 4GB 800 / LiteOn Blu-Ray / 8800GT / Samsung 46"LCD / 2x2TB / OCZ500 / ATI550 / Wrless Kbrd & Rmte / z-5500 / Win7Pro / APC700
"You must be the change you want to see in the world" 
- Mahatma Gandhi  
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2010, 08:07 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 272

My System Specs

Default

I would like to do it for the added support of USB 3.0 and SATA 6Gb but I can probably hold off, as my rig is running well, although since upgrading to Windows 7 and changing my main drive to an SSD I cannot seem to overclock it anymore, maybe a BIOS thing?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adviced needed on upgrade drako New Builds 11 August 17, 2009 06:57 AM
Monitor advice needed Kilauea Display Units 13 June 30, 2009 09:25 PM
Radiator advice needed .. Synth Water Cooling 8 May 25, 2009 04:42 PM
Some advice needed please! D4ng3r Cases 5 December 9, 2008 11:45 AM
Advice needed on WC Jackquelegs Water Cooling 36 November 22, 2008 10:40 PM