Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2010, 06:29 PM
feerof's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 174

My System Specs

Default Your experience with Gigabytes RMA policy and performance? Gigabyte is a go!

I want to RMA my mobo to them, but I'm not sure how they perform in that process... the only thing I've ever RMA'd was an ipod 30gb to apple... and they gave me quite a good impression.

So are my expectations too high?
__________________
Bob Saget.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2010, 06:33 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,339
Default

Gigabyte is very good at RMA's. On the average very easy to deal with and as long as the s/n shows it is in warranty...it IS in warranty! No need to "prove" it is in warranty (like some other companies do) with receipts or anything. This does help make the process fairly painless. IIRC you have to pay to ship the dead mobo to them, but they will ship either it repaired or a new one back to you free of charge. Expect a week or two delay (usually closer to one week then two) from the time the receive it to the time you get it back.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2010, 07:04 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

I have had a few gigabyte boards RMAed. turn around is usually 2-3 weeks.

Fill out the form from here. RMA

Everything is straight forward. Just make sure there is no noticeable physical damage or it be refused.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2010, 09:37 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I'm in the same boat as feerof. My bro's 770T UD3P crashes under Prime.

How should I package my motherboard? and What if the mobo that I sent to Gigabyte is not defective, then what will Gigabyte do?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2010, 11:13 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 381
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
How should I package my motherboard? and What if the mobo that I sent to Gigabyte is not defective, then what will Gigabyte do?
I did the original box + an outer box with bubble wrap in between. If there is NTF I believe there is some sort of surcharge (you'd had to look into it at gigabyte's site)


I've rma'd a board of mine that I possibly shorted out (not sure though). It was about 2 weeks once they got it.

Got the orignal board back, been going strong for 8 months or so. I wouldn't hesitate to buy anything gigabyte makes
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2010, 02:11 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

I had no issues with any RMA's I had with them; I thought I had but it turned out to be my own damn fault ahhaah. They were good!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2010, 02:12 AM
feerof's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 174

My System Specs

Default

I'm glad to hear this guys =p I'm glad I'm hearing positive things about gigabytes warranty policy, because i did a quick google search and i got all these negative things about them... from slobbering thermal paste in the cpu socket, to replacing a spare board labeled as new back to the consumer.

I will get my board RMA'd asap.
__________________
Bob Saget.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2010, 05:01 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by feerof View Post
I'm glad to hear this guys =p I'm glad I'm hearing positive things about gigabytes warranty policy, because i did a quick google search and i got all these negative things about them... from slobbering thermal paste in the cpu socket, to replacing a spare board labeled as new back to the consumer.

I will get my board RMA'd asap.
Just to make sure you dont set your expectations too high....There is NO guarantees of getting a new board back. You may or may not get new. What you will get back (or at least should...there is always zingers) is a working mobo. Sometimes it is cheaper to repair your mobo and send it back rather then send a new one. IF it costs more to repair and there is no repaired ones in the depot you will get new. This is how it is for ALL mobo companies. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2010, 06:02 PM
feerof's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 174

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Just to make sure you dont set your expectations too high....There is NO guarantees of getting a new board back. You may or may not get new. What you will get back (or at least should...there is always zingers) is a working mobo. Sometimes it is cheaper to repair your mobo and send it back rather then send a new one. IF it costs more to repair and there is no repaired ones in the depot you will get new. This is how it is for ALL mobo companies. ;)
Ohhhh, that's cool still, as long as the port is fixed, and there are no other issues with the board, then I'm fine... since i haven't done any overclocking with this board, i won't know the difference... in a way i'm fooling myself LOL

thanks!
__________________
Bob Saget.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2010, 06:17 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

What's wrong with your board feeof? Mine cannot sustain a 720BE on Prime95 in-place large ffts.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canadian RMA Experience Cheator Troubleshooting 233 May 26, 2014 02:05 PM
Disappointing XFX RMA experience Vhlad Video Cards 31 December 23, 2009 05:44 PM
My experience with A$US RMA Brian Off Topic 21 January 30, 2009 04:33 AM
Another rma experience thread anabioz CPU's and Motherboards 36 December 17, 2008 08:59 PM
EVGA shafts Canadian customers with new RMA policy werty316 Off Topic 42 December 18, 2007 10:07 PM