Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2010, 01:35 PM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

I'll be buying the 1090T when I have some cash available. It will be a good match for my 890 GX Mobo that was bought specifically for that purpose... Of course I don't need a 6 cores processor but I'll buy it just the same. What's is a guy do hey ? I just love new toys.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 05:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default

April 27th:
Due to severe time constraints we won't be wow'ing you with our extensive overclocking endeavours, but here is a teaser for an overclocking article that will be posted next Wednesday:

Did I miss that article yesterday or is it late or forgotten? Or are you guys having trouble overclocking the chip?
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 05:48 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enzo matrix View Post
Did I miss that article yesterday or is it late or forgotten? Or are you guys having trouble overclocking the chip?
No, it's my fault, life got in the way

Overclocking the X6 is easy, but doing it across four different motherboard adds another element of difficulty

The article will out in a couple of days, sorry for the delay.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:03 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
3-phase voltage regulation? Not a good idea.
So the more Phase voltage regulators you have the better/stable the power to the CPU will be?

But i'll probably sell my existing mobo/cpu/ram when my 770T gets returned from Gigabyte.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAC View Post
No, it's my fault, life got in the way

Overclocking the X6 is easy, but doing it across four different motherboard adds another element of difficulty

The article will out in a couple of days, sorry for the delay.
from the above we should expect some 7 series mobo clocking fun too? :)
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:06 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,640

My System Specs

Default

To follow up on my previous question about being able to clock individual cores.... that now appears to be possible using the ASUS OC software (turbo core or whatever they call it).

This in turn brings up an interesting thought.... if it's the overall heat of the individual cores causing stability to crap out under heavy OC load... wonder if just clocking the "outer" cores a bit higher would allow for an extra 100 Mhz on those cores.... not a big deal for day to day operations, but might be something to look into when benchmarking.

One thing I can say for sure is that NB OC is crucial on these chips for day to day operations. The difference in "snappiness" of the OS between default 2000 NB and a 2600 NB is night and day.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:07 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
So the more Phase voltage regulators you have the better/stable the power to the CPU will be?

But i'll probably sell my existing mobo/cpu/ram when my 770T gets returned from Gigabyte.
That might not be necessary, the Gigabyte model has a solid 8+2 PWM design.


Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
from the above we should expect some 7 series mobo clocking fun too? :)

Yep, that's whole idea behind the article
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
So the more Phase voltage regulators you have the better/stable the power to the CPU will be?
That's one part of it. The other is that more phases distributes the load over a greater number of components, which allows the PWM circuitry to deliver more power without failing.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 07:40 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
To follow up on my previous question about being able to clock individual cores.... that now appears to be possible using the ASUS OC software (turbo core or whatever they call it).

This in turn brings up an interesting thought.... if it's the overall heat of the individual cores causing stability to crap out under heavy OC load... wonder if just clocking the "outer" cores a bit higher would allow for an extra 100 Mhz on those cores.... not a big deal for day to day operations, but might be something to look into when benchmarking.

One thing I can say for sure is that NB OC is crucial on these chips for day to day operations. The difference in "snappiness" of the OS between default 2000 NB and a 2600 NB is night and day.
really? I dont notice anything.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 07:54 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

was it increase nb for more bandwith or something? memory fails me atm.

in heavier tasks you may probably notice it
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 1090T Phenom X6 REVIEW!!! jcmaz Reviews & Articles from the Web 20 April 27, 2010 12:32 PM
AMD Phenom X6 1090T Black Edition & 1055T launch on 4/27 MarkOne Rumor Mill 12 March 21, 2010 02:14 PM
AMD Introduces Sub-$100 AMD Phenom II Processor, and AMD Athlon II Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 January 25, 2010 03:31 PM
AMD Phenom X4 9750 Quad Core CPU Review comment thread AkG CPU's and Motherboards 11 August 27, 2008 10:00 PM