Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2010, 07:20 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

I here the Crosshair Iv extreme is going to be 300+ dollars.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2010, 08:14 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

very interesting q wilson. maybe we should have the amd rep follow up on it?

practically i dont think itll make a big difference, but then again 100-200mhz across the other 3+cores actually does :)

cant wait for more cores to be dropped on the desktop field within a reasonable power envelope, just like the x6's !!!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2010, 08:54 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

4.0 ghz six core processor that drops into my existing mobo socket. Smart marketing by AMD, they may not have the performance market. But they definetly have bang for buck.

Wondering as for gaming most games only use 2 cores still? Aside from gtaIV, or is that changing sometime soon?
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2010, 09:04 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

Not sure how much more support we'll see for multi-threading as it's apparently a complex process to code. OTOH, most folks these days are multi-tasking even while gaming (teamspeak, monitoring, background music, etc.....) so I suspect that using a priority/affinity manager to force secondary apps onto the last couple of cores might be worthwhile.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2010, 09:10 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Now if the 6 core Phenom would work in my Asus M2A-VM (which should work since i've tried the 720BE for it), that would be a kick a$$ upgrade for a ~2-3 year old motherboard.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2010, 10:41 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
Now if the 6 core Phenom would work in my Asus M2A-VM (which should work since i've tried the 720BE for it), that would be a kick a$$ upgrade for a ~2-3 year old motherboard.











running it stock? maybe yes, maybe not. overclocking it? suicide :)
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2010, 06:06 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,778
Default

I wouldn't try a 125W processor in that board...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2010, 06:54 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,779

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I wouldn't try a 125W processor in that board...
Yeah, I think the motherboard would just say "fvck this" and burst into flames like this:


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2010, 08:01 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

usually you look at the filtering capabilities of the unit. if good? go for it. if good+properly cooled? oc as well. neither? hmmmm

i dont care what review site say, just look up a picture of your future mobo or take a quick look whats under the hood in there
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2010, 09:40 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
Now if the 6 core Phenom would work in my Asus M2A-VM (which should work since i've tried the 720BE for it), that would be a kick a$$ upgrade for a ~2-3 year old motherboard.
3-phase voltage regulation? Not a good idea.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 1090T Phenom X6 REVIEW!!! jcmaz Reviews & Articles from the Web 20 April 27, 2010 01:32 PM
AMD Phenom X6 1090T Black Edition & 1055T launch on 4/27 MarkOne Rumor Mill 12 March 21, 2010 03:14 PM
AMD Introduces Sub-$100 AMD Phenom II Processor, and AMD Athlon II Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 January 25, 2010 04:31 PM
AMD Phenom X4 9750 Quad Core CPU Review comment thread AkG CPU's and Motherboards 11 August 27, 2008 11:00 PM