Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 07:44 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Downtown Toronto
Posts: 161
Default Does a CPU run hotter over time?

I've always wondered whether it is my "thermal paste application skills" or whether a CPU runs hotter over time. Usually with a fresh cpu and HSF, the cpu runs pretty cool, but over time, even after replacing the thermal paste, the cpu never runs as cool as it did when I first got it. Is this because I'm not applying thermal paste properly?
__________________
New on HWC but lots of feedback on RFD (89-0-0)


XBMC Rig (1900PPD): AMD Athlon II X2 240 @ 3.2ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H | G.Skill 2GB DDR2 800 | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Antec NSK1300 SFF Case
Folding Rig: (1700+4500PPD) Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | OCZ Special Ops 2GB DDR2 800 | EVGA 9800GT | G.Skill Falcon 64GB SSD | Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | Seagate Momentus 1TB | Generic ATX 430W Case
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 07:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

well, describe how you replace thermal paste.

I don't believe CPUs get noticeably hotter over time, given similar conditions.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 08:08 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,074

My System Specs

Default Look fore spyware

If you have spyware hiding on your system it eats up clocks on CPU and RAM. A chip itself if overclocked will also tend to heat more over time. At stock clocking it shouldent start to act up fore years.

I pulled off like 200 spyware gagetts off one system once.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 08:53 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

CPUs do not produce more heat over time. Any increase in temperature is due to dust buildup or other things impeding airflow and cooling performance, as well as things that place more load on the CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 08:57 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,826

My System Specs

Default

tim dried up on ya
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2010, 09:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

back in the day there was talk of silicone deterioration or such due to (high(er)) voltages or temps...havent heard anything i na while tough.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 02:27 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Downtown Toronto
Posts: 161
Default

I guess it may be the HSF then.

My process:

I take off the HSF, use rubbing alcohol on a q-tip and remove all the thermal paste from the CPU, then I use a kitchen towel with rubbing alcohol and remove all thermal paste from the HSF.

After that, I apply the thermal paste with the applicator (Zalman STG1 - comes with a nail polish like applicator) on the CPU, and then rub some into the HSF with a paper towel. I then place the HSF back on the CPU making sure all the HSF is tight on the cpu.

After about a week of letting the thermal paste settle, I'm at about 50C, whereas I've had my CPU at 30C in the past. Never overclocked, etc. Fresh OS install, doesn't make a diff.

Maybe my HSF needs a cleaning rather than thermal paste.
__________________
New on HWC but lots of feedback on RFD (89-0-0)


XBMC Rig (1900PPD): AMD Athlon II X2 240 @ 3.2ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H | G.Skill 2GB DDR2 800 | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Antec NSK1300 SFF Case
Folding Rig: (1700+4500PPD) Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | OCZ Special Ops 2GB DDR2 800 | EVGA 9800GT | G.Skill Falcon 64GB SSD | Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | Seagate Momentus 1TB | Generic ATX 430W Case
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 02:58 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

Which CPU are you talking about?

30C load? you must be talking about the AMD setup?

If it got up that much your likely having bad contact, too much paste or not enough paste.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 03:16 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Downtown Toronto
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
Which CPU are you talking about?

30C load? you must be talking about the AMD setup?

If it got up that much your likely having bad contact, too much paste or not enough paste.
I'm talking about the T5200 in my laptop, its ambient

Ambient 32 previously, and 48 ambient now.

Load was probably 40 previously and 55-60 now.

I guess I'll try and reseat it.
__________________
New on HWC but lots of feedback on RFD (89-0-0)


XBMC Rig (1900PPD): AMD Athlon II X2 240 @ 3.2ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA78LM-S2H | G.Skill 2GB DDR2 800 | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Antec NSK1300 SFF Case
Folding Rig: (1700+4500PPD) Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | OCZ Special Ops 2GB DDR2 800 | EVGA 9800GT | G.Skill Falcon 64GB SSD | Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | Seagate Momentus 1TB | Generic ATX 430W Case
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 06:00 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,866

My System Specs

Default

As far as I know there is no increase over time. I had my Athlon 1700+ for 6 years and its temp went up <10 degrees after 3 years (under load with the same thermal paste that was never replaced), then the motherboard fried and I put it in a new board and temps went back down to where they were when I first got it. Temps never went back up on me after that.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overly high CPU load and inability to run programs smoothly Maplicito Troubleshooting 15 March 26, 2010 11:32 AM
Totally shocked that my MB could run a Phenom II cpu Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 1 October 14, 2009 02:52 PM
how many fans can I run off of motherboard cpu fan plugin Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 5, 2009 01:17 PM
Hyperthreading Mode (Core i7 920) makes it run hotter appplejack CPU's and Motherboards 4 January 11, 2009 12:44 AM
Does the X3110 run hotter then E8400? Dashock CPU's and Motherboards 36 August 15, 2008 11:14 AM