Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2010, 11:43 AM
shaman44's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lower mainland
Posts: 22

My System Specs

Default AMD Phenom II X2 550

Will the AMD Phenom II X2 550 on the ASUS M4A785TD-V make a good budget gaming unit. If so what memory with that mobo.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2010, 03:33 PM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

Here is HWC's review on that board with the same CPU. ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO and M4A785TD-M EVO AM3 Motherboards Review
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2010, 04:22 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,717
Default

In short; yes. Both that board and CPU are excellent choices for price conscious gaming. And with a little OC tweaking, you can get a whole lot more out of them.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2010, 04:40 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Excellent Boards (I have Two of the ATX EVO's) and the Processor has a lot of Capabilities in it. So in short as well, I concur that it is a good choice.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2010, 05:21 PM
shaman44's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lower mainland
Posts: 22

My System Specs

Default

Thanks. I have one question. Looking at the layout of the SATA connectors on the Board and the length of my GTX 260, almost 11 inches, it appears to interfere with at least 2 of the SATA connectors.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2010, 05:27 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaman44 View Post
Thanks. I have one question. Looking at the layout of the SATA connectors on the Board and the length of my GTX 260, almost 11 inches, it appears to interfere with at least 2 of the SATA connectors.
You'll be able to use all SATA no problem. I've got GX2's in both my Rigs with the EVO's and nothing gets in the way my of Ports.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] WD1001FALS WD Caviar Black 1TB 0o0 Buy/Sell & Trade 21 April 10, 2010 10:37 AM
AMD 550 @ 3.9X4 :D mattlef Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 16 January 1, 2010 06:51 PM
Phenom II 550 jcmaz CPU's and Motherboards 2 October 3, 2009 07:56 PM
Phenom II X2 550 -X4 Vcore max mattlef CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 29, 2009 05:20 PM
AMD prepares its Phenom FX, Phenom X4 and Phenom X2 lineups Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 May 4, 2007 07:38 AM