Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 11:32 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 912

My System Specs

Default Motherboard's : AMD which one is better!

I have 2 motherboards and need to lose one of them. Curious which one I should keep and well you people have some of the best brains around so heres to hoping someone can help out!

Which of these 2 motherboards would I be better off keeping for another build.

1) Gigabyte MA790GP-DS4H
2) Asus M3A79-T

Thanks in advance greatly appreciated also if you can please help with my other thread as well.
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-new-post.html

Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Trayton Kilby
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 11:58 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,062

My System Specs

Default

In my Own Opinion I would keep the Gigabyte board. They are truely awesome in my opinion, don't get me wrong I Love Asus boards too, but between those two if it was me, it would be GB all the way.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 12:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i have a preference for giga boards too, altough soem asus boards are super nice as well. my old p5q something wast he easiest board to oc i had up to date
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 12:35 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

I've had an equally awesome experience both with Asus and GB mid and high-end boards. I'd flip a coin.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2010, 02:47 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

I'd go with the M3A79-T. I have one myself and it's been solid for over a year now. I plan on running it for a long time yet. Before this mobo I had a MA790X-DS4 (similar to the Giggity your asking about) that died on me. It's mosfets popped with a 125W Phenom 9950. I think the 790FX is better then the 790GX chip too. The M3A79-T board has allot of better features like 8+2 phase power compared to the Giggity's 4+1 which make it, IMO a superior piece of equipment in comparison to the MA790GP-DS4H.

Last edited by Killswitch; March 19, 2010 at 02:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 01:42 PM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default

I would go with ASUS because their customer support is just awesome. Really easy to speak to a person, and a person without a hard to understand accent at that!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 04:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,842

My System Specs

Default

Honestly you won't go wrong with either. If one has a feature you want that the other doesn't then go for it. Otherwise it is just brand preference (my vote is for the ASUS).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 06:48 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Half a year ago I said this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
ahh that question again.

out of the 3.

Top choice for overclocking the 940 is the Asus 790FX + 750SB, then the gigabyte.

Asus 790FX + 750SB (enthusiast) /Asus 790FX+600SB (enthusiast too but rev 1 that doesn't overclock as well as the 750SB)
Gigabyte 790GX (mainstream)
I will still stick with that.

The asus FX has dual 16X, if you ever want to have multiple video cards and or 2-3 PCIE x1 cards your main video card slot won't be reduce to 8x

And 2 way crossfire vs 3 way
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 01:45 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 943

My System Specs

Default

The gigabyte board hands down. Im wishing I didnt muck my DS4H up removing my watercooler and having to RMA the board. I paid a pretty penny for my DS4H when i got it new and it was worth every cent .The DS4H also achieved some amazing clock speeds as well great unlock rate with pehnoms. I cant speak for the asus board, but from what i have read from others its an excellent option as well. The only thing I would keep the asus over the gigabyte is RMA reasons. Asus has an RMA depot in markham so the process can be quick and painless without getting dinged by customs.

When I RMAd the gigabyte board it was a total shitshow - I sent my board to california where it ended up in mexico (not a border town in mexico, but a full 12 hours into mexico). After 45 days of RMA it finally arrived at the gigabyte depot and the board was replaced because they dont make the uber expensive DS4H boards anymore. Customs felt the need to flag my new board as a threat since it went from canada - us - mexico - us- canada, and then charged me 28 dollars in duty for the new board even though it was a replacement for a board i had purchased in canada.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.

Last edited by Fudd Rucker; March 21, 2010 at 01:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Amd 939 motherboard Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 1 September 26, 2009 07:07 AM
[WTB] AMD 939 Motherboard FiveNines Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 25, 2009 06:07 PM
[WTB] AMD Socket 754 Motherboard Sipek Buy/Sell & Trade 12 April 16, 2009 11:28 PM
[WTB] AMD AM2+ and Motherboard elec999 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 22, 2009 03:22 PM
AMD 770 Motherboard Help BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 1 February 2, 2008 07:10 AM