Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 09:57 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default which cpu better for OC+Gaming?

I haven't bought my cpu yet but I am curious which would be better for future OCing and Gaming quad or dual core? at first I was thinking of picking up a q6600 but I have read ( some where don't really remember where) that there isn't much difference for Gaming between the two ( quad dual cores) is this true
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 10:18 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

For just gaming, the fastest C2Ds are a little faster than the Quads. That's for NOW. Quads have a promising future tho! They'll stay strong longer when "Quad optimized" applications will come out.
Plus, retailers like NCIX are selling the Quad for $285 and Free ground shipping for entire order. It might be irrelevent to you cause you live in BC (might be living close to an NCIX branch...). To me, free shipping for entire order is money in my pocket, me living down east...

But I personally would build around a Q6600 (overclocked of course).
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 10:30 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

That was what I was leaning towards because I usually am multitasking while gaming I usually have irc and team speak . I just did some more research and found out that the new Q9450 is coming out will be in Jan now I am wondering about the pricing vs performance between these two lol

Last edited by Shadowmeph; October 21, 2007 at 10:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 11:32 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,715

My System Specs

Default

For IRC/other IM/webbrowsing/music/etc I highly advise an old laptop/notebook sitting beside your gaming rig. It does not have to be that powerful, just capable enough to do what you need.
I find this setup extremely convenient if I am organizing a game via IRC or just hanging out in channels.

I use a somewhat upgraded PowerBook G3 Series Rev 2 (introduced 1998) running Mac OS X 10.4.10.
300Mhz G3 (XPC750, PRX300RB) w/ 1MB L2, 384MB RAM, 40GB HD, stock 20x CD-ROM hotswap module, stock floppy hotswap module, Linksys WPC54G v3, Macally CardBus FireWire 400.
Just connect that sucker up to the second input of the speaker set above my desk and it is a great IRC/browsing/whatever machine while I am gaming. Need extra storage for music or some fast networking? FireWire! Want to have an audio chat with someone? Great mic in the top of the display housing!

I do not doubt that if other users here did this they would use an x86 based computer but it is just an example. You can use whatever you have. Portables are nice though as they generally have trackpads and small keyboards so you can get them close to your gaming machine with minimal consumption of desk space.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 12:24 PM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

Quadcore = essentially 4 pc's working concurrently
No games on the market optimize dualcore/quadcore technology at this time. Hence they all run on 1 core.
If you run a dualcore 1 core runs the game 1 core runs whatever other software you are using including background programs
If you run a quadcore 1 core runs the game 3 cores run whatever other softaware you are using including background programs
For speed you can OC an E6850 to 3.6/4.ghz
For performance you can OC a Q6600 GO to 3/3.6ghz if you're extremely lucky
If you put a fast cpu on a crap board you will get crap performance so for gaming...
Good MB
Dualcore/Quadcore
8000 series Graphics
Sata HD
2ghz PC6400 high performance ram
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 01:13 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
No games on the market optimize dualcore/quadcore technology at this time. Hence they all run on 1 core.
Excuse me? Quake4 has Dual-Core optimization, an option that you can turn on in "advanced settings".
Ok.

Some games that have dual core support...

Age of Empires III

Black & White 2

Call of Duty 2

City of Villains by NCSoft

Doom3 by IDsoftware

F.E.A.R. by Vivendi (allegedly enabled, but real world no real performance increase to FPS, tho it still performs)

Peter Jackson’s King Kong

Prey 1.2 & 1.3 by Take2

Quake 4 by IDsoftware

Quake 5 (promised when released)

Serious Sam 2 by Croteam

Splinter Cell by Tom Clancy

Supreme Commander by Gas Powered Games Corp.

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion (on pre-order)

The Movies

Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter

Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six 3

Tony Hawk’s American Wasteland

Unreal Engine 3

Vangauard Saga of Heros

World of Warcraft
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 01:33 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,715

My System Specs

Default

Don't forget Quake 3!
Quake 3, OS X, and Power Mac G4/800MP
"r_smp 1 (on 800MP to active dual cpu mode; left at default 0 for solo cpu Macs)"
(At the bottom of the page.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 05:58 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

For now, best bang-for-the-buck is a Q6600 G0. But if you can wait until Intel releases their new line of CPUs, the Q9450 looks very promising.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2007, 06:21 PM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

Yup. Quad hands down. I can't tell you how valuable quad-core can be when you're constantly locking up even a Core2Duo doing mundane tasks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming Rig janes780 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 10 January 15, 2008 08:16 PM
New Gaming Rig? mgp141 CPU's and Motherboards 16 December 28, 2007 06:30 PM
SFF Gaming Rig BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 18 December 1, 2007 05:50 PM
New Gaming Box born2expire Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 1 October 16, 2007 02:03 PM
there's gaming and then there's... mo' power Gaming 2 April 9, 2007 03:49 PM