Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2010, 08:43 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario - Toronto/Waterloo
Posts: 49

My System Specs

Default Q6600 to Q9650

Is a Q9650 a worthy upgrade from a Q6600 clocked @ 3.2ghz.

I just don't feel at this point in time a i920 will offer me the right value, since I need a system overhaul that would cost well over $700.

There is a Qx9650 selling for $400 at tigerdirect. That's another alternative.

Right now the Q9650 will costs me around $360. Is it a worthy upgrade or should I wait until the price of the i7 MBs and DDR3 drops?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2010, 09:00 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I asked the same question a few months ago.

Max out the S775 or move up to I7?
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2010, 09:12 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Not worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2010, 10:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Halifax
Posts: 18

My System Specs

Default

I went from a Q6600 to a Q9550 a while back and saw nothing tangible. I had my Q6600 overclocked and it was good enough at the time and my "upgrade" was a waste of money.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2010, 10:32 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,844

My System Specs

Default

Wait till you can make the jump to i5 750 or higher.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2010, 11:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario - Toronto/Waterloo
Posts: 49

My System Specs

Default

I'm pondering a 5850 or a 5870.

I'm wondering if the Q6600 will bottleneck the card? Jumping from a GTX260 c216
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2010, 12:12 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I've noticed my Q6600 @ 3.0 is a bit of a bottleneck in benchmarks for a 5850 (maybe a few FPS), I haven't seen it as an issue for gaming

Here's a 5870 on a few different CPU's

Google Translate
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2010, 12:14 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

Having Done this upgrade a few months back, Do it if you plan on running any new cards.

My Q6600 Running @ 4.05 Ghz Was perfect for my 8800GTX SLI set up.

I Sold the cards and bought a XFX 285 BE. I thought it was running great. I had score 18000 3dmark06.

Untill i was told Im bottle necking bigtime.

So i bought a Q9650. @ stock speed I scored 19250. Now Over clocked to 4.05 I score 23500.

Adding another 285 to the Loop, Lets see what i score.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2010, 12:17 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I notice a big difference in my Stalker bench mark with my 5870 , when my I5- 750 is at 2,66 and 3,3


3,3




2,66
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2010, 01:25 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromey View Post
Having Done this upgrade a few months back, Do it if you plan on running any new cards.

My Q6600 Running @ 4.05 Ghz Was perfect for my 8800GTX SLI set up.

I Sold the cards and bought a XFX 285 BE. I thought it was running great. I had score 18000 3dmark06.

Untill i was told Im bottle necking bigtime.

So i bought a Q9650. @ stock speed I scored 19250. Now Over clocked to 4.05 I score 23500.

Adding another 285 to the Loop, Lets see what i score.
I bet if you were trying to run actual games, you wouldn't have noticed any difference at all in performance or playable settings.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] [FS] Q9650 cryostage Buy/Sell & Trade 24 August 15, 2009 05:05 PM
[WTB] QX Or Q9650 Chromey Buy/Sell & Trade 6 June 24, 2009 04:25 PM
Planning on getting a Q9650 shayan288 CPU's and Motherboards 8 March 15, 2009 09:14 PM
CPU cooler for Q9650 486 CPU's and Motherboards 3 February 3, 2009 12:50 PM