Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 05:45 AM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default 939 Vs. AM2?

Been attempting to find a satisfying conclusion to what processor socket size is worth spending the money over at this time.

I've seen a lot of reviews suggesting that AM2 is great only most hardware is not ready for it. Others say 939 is just slightly under AM2, so they suggest it's not worth switching since you can achieve near the same performance.

Fill in the blanks please

btw.
I have the Asrock 939Dual-SATA2 board and I am debating on getting the AM2CPU.
I figure since the AM2CPU upgrade is only $40, and an AMD Opteron for AM2 is near and around the same price range as 939... why not upgrade. on a plus side I can then move up to DDR2 ram.
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 07:38 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

What processor do you have now, and what AM2 processor were you looking at upgrading to?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 07:56 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Personally I wouldnt go 939 there is no upgrade path for it so when/if you wanted to upgrade say the cpu or RAM there is going to be slim pickings, plus ddr1 is still higher priced than it's ddr2 conterparts. Any ddr2 that you purchase now will still be usable in both AM2 or in a Intel.
I other words if you go 939/ddr1 then there is no chance of reuseing the RAM in another system.
939 was a great socket plenty of fun and the Opty's were some hot clockers.
What CPU are you interested in?

BTW I think BALISTX still has my old Opty 144 and isnt useing it, might want to PM him if you are interested save you some cash, it would do 2.7 on stock Air. I like to think it would have hit 2.9 with some decient cooling. But it's single core.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 09:21 AM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

I'm going to be getting an Opty. I would like to see what benefits would come out of AM2 and DDR2
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 10:31 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default question

Yes there is no upgrade path for 939.
But a Oc'd 939x2 opteron still manages things applications very well with good RAM and MB.
Im not sure that you would see much difference in 3d games between an AM2 processor/DDR2 and a equally clocked opteron with good DDR500 and a fast MB...especially with an 8800series.
Why dont you just go for the core2's anyway if your considering a platform change to DDR2? If not just get the 939 opteron as long as you have performance RAM and MB to keep things ticking till your ready for a major platform upgrade.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 12:09 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

AM2 socket was a few % faster in some task then the 939 socket,if you have some DDR1 ram then you might consider a 939 system,otherwise go for socket Am2

i could give you a link of the diy-street forums where a comparaison betwen the AM2 and 939 have been made
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 06:54 PM
DerekOldschool's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chibi_man View Post
I'm going to be getting an Opty. I would like to see what benefits would come out of AM2 and DDR2
no doubt that choosing the cpu that uses ddr2 ram (AM2) would be the logical choice since ddr mem is not used in more recent motherboards.

However, it depends what your current system is - besides the mobo

what are your other system specs? ( A good sig is worth a 1000 words...lol)
__________________
i7-860 @ 4.2Ghz (1.33v) EVGA P55 FTW SLI (E657-A51 Bios) Thermalright ULTRA-120 Trueblack Rev.C G.Skill Ripjaws 4G DDR3-2000 Antec 850W TPQ 2xBFG GTX280 1G SLI Acer X263W 25.5" LCD Crucial C4 256G WD FAEX 1TB LG DVDRAM GH20NS10 Thermaltake Kandalf case Windows 7 Pro x64

E8400 @ 3.96Ghz (1.42v) EVGA 780i A1 (P08) ZalmanCNPS9700NT G.Skill 4G DDR2-1000 eVGA GTX280SC 1G Windows 7 Pro x64 1xSeagate Barracuda 7200.11 500G
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 09:48 PM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

If you're looking into one-way Opteron chips, 939 is perfectly fine for that as they will be cheaper and easier to find. I'm not familiar with one-way chips for AM2--I believe they remained on 940.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2007, 07:25 AM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

Yea, I have been reading something similar. From what I have found there is more benefits for me if I keep the 939 with opty. In the future AM2 would be the choice but right now it does not seem to be.
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes