Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 10:31 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default Help on a connection please!

I'm having some difficulty with a couple of connections on my board, and was wondering if I could impose on someone for some advice?

My case (Coolermaster CM 690 II Advanced) has a lead (one) coming from the top of the case I/O panel that has two connectors on the end of it. They resemble USB connectors (I know they're not) but one is marked AC 97 and the other is marked HD audio.

CM 690 II Advanced Manual - Cooler Master

It says to refer to board instructions but has some diagrams. On the bottom of page 2-37 of the ASUS manual it says (I THINK) that I should connect the HD lead to the AAFP header?? I'm almost certain this is correct but almost might cook the board.

Secondly my board (ASUS P7P55D-E Pro) has the following.

IntelŽ P55 Express Chipset built-in
6 xSATA 3.0 Gb/s ports
Intel Matrix Storage Technology Support RAID 0,1,5,10
JMicronŽ JMB363 PATA and SATA controller
1 xUltraDMA 133/100/66 for up to 2 PATA devices
1 xExternal SATA 3Gb/s port
1 xSATA 3Gb/s port (black)
MarvellŽ PCIe SATA6Gb/s controller:
- 2 x SATA 6.0 Gb/s ports (Gray)

The black SATA port listed under the JMicron heading (pg 2-34 of the manual)? What is this SATA port specifically for?
Thanks in advance for the help.
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 11:06 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,038

My System Specs

Default

You are correct about the audio connector, it will plug into the AAFP port. However, you will use "ac97" or "hdaudio" connector depends on what you use in the BIOS. I typically use "hdaudio" and make sure the BIOS reflects that.

I think your black SATA connector is just a "bonus" connector that they've added because they could. They wanted to include PATA on this motherboard and the chipset they used to include PATA came with a bonus SATA connector. I just assume they said "Hell why not" and just connected it for you.

I would connector your HDs to either the 6 Intel ports or the 2 Marvell ones.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 11:38 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Thanks a bunch for the reply. The manual didn't specify what to do with it. I thought the 2 Marvel ones were SATA 3 only?
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 11:43 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMJim View Post
Thanks a bunch for the reply. The manual didn't specify what to do with it. I thought the 2 Marvel ones were SATA 3 only?
Jim
The Marvell ones are Sata3, but Sata3 is backwards compatible with Sata2. The JMicron controller controls your IDE and eSATA, but since there's only space for one eSATA port on the back, the 2nd port (they normally come in pairs) is made available as a regular Sata port inside the case.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 12:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Thanks for the help. The manual could be a little clearer but that wouldn't be any fun. I guess it's not written for the rookies.
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You think your connection is bad? MpG Off Topic 0 September 10, 2009 03:41 PM
New Router; Computer Connection Issues Mr. Gruntsworthy Troubleshooting 22 August 9, 2009 08:04 PM
Network Connection Help fellows Networking 7 July 7, 2009 11:38 PM
Wireless connection problem. Brinnie Networking 3 March 21, 2008 04:00 AM
BF2 refusing connection Jim Gaming 1 April 3, 2007 10:49 AM