Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 03:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Exclamation P7P55D-E Pro & G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL

I am trying to find out if anyone has found stable BIOS settings using the Asus P7P55D-E Pro Board and G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL RAM Kit.

I'M not looking to over clock this board just want stability.
Also any other tips on how to setup this board would appreciated. Picture of your BIOS would be nice too.

G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL
Intel Core i5 750 Quad
XFX Radeon HD 5770
Corsair TX650W
P7P55D-E Pro

Thanks

Rick
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 03:51 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Don't understand your question... you usually don't play in the bios to adjust stability unless you overclock, or the memory cause a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 04:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Whats not to understand. I am new to all this and would like to know what others have the BIOS set to with a setup like this. I have no OS installed as of yet, but will be using WIN 7.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 04:20 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

First welcome to the board... you have nothing to do with the bios..you just install your Windows, as I said before you play in the Bios when you have a problem of compatibility with the memory. but it's not your case. you don't even Build it... Just install your OS and enjoy.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 08:24 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

Taken From G.Skills site.

G.SKILL-Products


Qualified Motherboards List

 
ASRock P55 Extreme ASRock P55 Deluxe ASRock P55 Pro ASUS Maximus III Formula ASUS Maximus III Gene ASUS SABERTOOTH 55i ASUS P7P55D-E Premium ASUS P7P55D-E Deluxe ASUS P7P55D-E EVO ASUSP7P55D-E Pro ASUS P7P55D-E ASUS P7P55D Premium ASUS P7P55D Deluxe ASUS P7P55D EVO ASUS P7P55D Pro ASUS P7P55D
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2010, 12:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brampton, ON
Posts: 78
Default

Why are you asking - are you encountering issues? Or just curious?

I have some G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3-1600 memory, and found that the label on the memory said it is 1.6V, but the motherboard insisted on running much below that. This happened with two motherboards - ASUS Maximus III, and ASUSU P7P55D-E Premium.

The BIOS also set the timing to 9-9-9-24, but the memory was rated for 7-8-7-20.

I adjusted the voltage to the correct level.

After swapping to the Premium board, I also picked up some OCZ memory. Again, the settings the motherboard used did not match what the label on the memory said, so I adjust the BIOS to match the memory's requirements.

I am now running two OCZ and two G.Skill for a total of 8Gb. The voltage and timing are set for the OCZ, and the G.Skill seems to be working well. I am running at 1.65V and 8-8-8-20.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2010, 02:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default

First thanks for the welcome to the board MarkOne.

Hi rfielder; I'm Hoping I don't have any bad encounters with this setup. Thats why I was just asking what other have done with a setup like this.
The BIOS set the RAM Timing all right at 9-9-9-24 but the RAM Volts should be 1.5v and its running about 1.546v-1.559v on Auto. So I hope thats okay.

I had to set the Front Panel to AC97, because the dam wire wouldn't reach for the HD Audio. no biggie. Oh ther is one other thing, and if anyone knows this board you should know what I am talking about when I say. The Post State LEDs that check key components on MB Boot, and if any error is found the light stays on. Well I have 1 LED that stays on, its the OV RAM Switch above the RAM sticks. So I guess its set to OV and maybe thats why the RAMv are fluxuating. {Now can I switch it to Default} while the PC is running or do I need to turn off the PC berore switching it off.
This is my 3rd build now. So one would think I should know what I am doing. Well I do kinda LOL. There is just a lot more OC settings on this board then the A8N-E I setup the first time around haha. But like MarkOne said if it anit brok don't fix it. So I will see after I instal Windows 7 how it takes the hit...

Thats brings me to more questions, Instaling Win 7
Any pointers on that would be nice. So far I have done a lot of reading up on how to install it, so I think it should go okay. One thing I am not to sure about is.
1> Setting up an Partition for the OS.
2>And because I am doing a clean instal there is no Firewall or Anti Virus on the system yet.
Do I instal Win 7 unplug from the Net or should I have it connected for the install.

Thanks to any answers you may have for me on this.

Rick
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2010, 02:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Oh sorry there was 1 other thing.
The Max CPUID Value Limit is set to (Disabled) For Windows XP. Is that okay ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2010, 02:26 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hopper View Post
This is my 3rd build now. So one would think I should know what I am doing. Well I do kinda LOL. .
Man it's 28 years I build PC...and still have more questions not answered than one I know the answer
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2010, 04:38 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hopper View Post
I am trying to find out if anyone has found stable BIOS settings using the Asus P7P55D-E Pro Board and G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL RAM Kit.

I'M not looking to over clock this board just want stability.
Also any other tips on how to setup this board would appreciated. Picture of your BIOS would be nice too.

G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL
Intel Core i5 750 Quad
XFX Radeon HD 5770
Corsair TX650W
P7P55D-E Pro

Thanks

Rick

Rick
I too have a P7P55D-E Pro board and I think you'll get your answer on page 3-16 of the manual. Ai Overclock tuner. Even if you're not overclocking from what I've read on the G.skill forum (their tech guy) you have to set to XMP in the BIOS and adjust the voltage for stability.
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] sold coriolis Buy/Sell & Trade 7 October 14, 2010 12:40 AM
ASUS P7P55D Pro & 8pin EATX12 with cap Logger CPU's and Motherboards 3 January 2, 2010 01:18 PM
Q6600, P5Q Pro & Vendetta 2 Neolithium_Wpg Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 November 23, 2008 09:24 AM
FS - Cooler Master Real Power Pro 1000W & NZXT Precise 850W werty316 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 May 30, 2008 10:17 AM