Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 01:27 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I rather like the Gigabyte 770T UD3P and its cheap so you can get a decent Xonar soundcard.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2010, 02:28 PM
Mook06's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 113

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Probably the best way to start this would be to use google to find out what onboard audio chips support your requirements and work from there.
that is the problem, most realtek 800 or higher support ddl/dts encoding, but its up to the mobo manufacturer to include it, i think there are licensing fees or something. so it seems it is implemented on the driver / bios / firmware level, unfortunately i havent found a hack for that yet

what is really anoying is this feature is done almost exclusively on the cpu, there is no reason a virtual soundcard set up to encode dts/dolby then stream it over any available Spdif wouldnt work, i would gladly pay 30 bucks for software like that
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2010, 08:22 PM
Mook06's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 113

My System Specs

Default

so i found an ooold Creative Audigy 1 laying around and found the Daniel K hacked drivers that enable DTS interactive via some hacking, so i bought the license from creative for ~$5 and wouldn't you know, it works pretty much perfect, uses 2-10% cpu on my 2.0Ghz athlon x2

but my 8800gt is hot enough without this card, this adds 10+ degrees so ill have to slap an extra fan somewhere for now

so now all i need is a mobo that will unlock phenoms and a legacy pci slot on the bottom, easy!

now to take another look at those evos
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Cheap Trio: AM2/AM3 Mobo + 2GB DDR2 + 640GB HDD MAC Buy/Sell & Trade 28 October 11, 2009 10:05 PM
AM2+ hsf fit AM3? mattlef CPU's and Motherboards 1 July 31, 2009 05:36 PM
[WTT] e5200 lapped for your AM2/AM3 CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 12 July 15, 2009 05:23 AM
[WTB] AM2+/AM3 MB must have AMD chipset aimndtel Buy/Sell & Trade 5 June 13, 2009 11:36 AM
[WTB] WTB: AM2 or AM2+ mobo and ddr2 ram Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 3, 2009 11:29 AM