Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2007, 03:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Where are you located?

If need be there might be somebody local who'd be willing to pop over with a 1066 CPU to get you past a flash if necessary.........
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2007, 03:55 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,576
Default

p35's should not need a bios update at all! They are designed for 1333 cpus unlike the 965 which would require one.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2007, 04:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 33
Default

I just received my system less than a week ago...

Intel E6750 (1333FSB) + Gigabyte DS3L and I did not experience any problems getting the system to post. On top of that, the RAM I ordered is supposed to run at 2.2v but the board is factory set to 1.8v and it still posted no problem. I've never used BIOS before and to be honest I really didn't change anything in it because I didn't know what I 'should' be doing. Essentially I looked at it, said, hey thats neat, then installed the OS, lol.

That said, if anyone has any suggestions for me to ensure that things are running at the proper timings and voltages and such, feel free to give me pointers. What program(s) do you suggest to check voltages and what not? And where can I download them? I was checking RAM voltages in BIOS but basically it didn't tell you the true voltage ... you could just +.1 ... +.2 ... from default settings. So I was worried I might burn it out by overvoltaging if it had already adjusted to what the RAM should be.

Last edited by Kandorf; October 7, 2007 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2007, 04:32 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,576
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kandorf View Post
I just received my system less than a week ago...

Intel E6750 (1333FSB) + Gigabyte DS3L and I did not experience any problems getting the system to post. On top of that, the RAM I ordered is supposed to run at 2.2v but the board is factory set to 1.8v and it still posted no problem. I've never used BIOS before and to be honest I really didn't change anything in it because I didn't know what I 'should' be doing. Essentially I looked at it, said, hey thats neat, then installed the OS, lol.

That said, if anyone has any suggestions for me to ensure that things are running at the proper timings and voltages and such, feel free to give me pointers. What program(s) do you suggest to check voltages and what not? And where can I download them? I was checking RAM voltages in BIOS but basically it didn't tell you the true voltage ... you could just +.1 ... +.2 ... from default settings. So I was worried I might burn it out by overvoltaging if it had already adjusted to what the RAM should be.
RAM voltages on Gigabyte boards is basically this:

Default 1.8v
+0.1 = 1.9
+0.2 = 2.0
+0.3 = 2.1

etc :D
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2007, 06:45 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

You will have a very nice system. And don't worry about the BIOS flash, the last DS3L I bought was already sporting the latest BIOS.

Have fun building it!

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2007, 02:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for all your input.

I just placed my order for the above metioned parts and am giddy to get this setup running. I'd also like to report, I love Directcanada.com as I waited a week to see if the price would change or I could find a local shop within same price range. And I was giddy to see they droped the price of the E6550 20$ and droped the 320gb Segate 15$ + I found a mail-in on the coolmaster cm 690. That temped me to upgrade my case at the same time.

So I'll be rushing home from work all week to see if puralator has stoped in yet


Cheers again for the help
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Budget PC Build BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 13 March 6, 2008 07:52 AM
Planned Budget System - Appreciate Opinions misterlarry CPU's and Motherboards 28 January 16, 2008 06:55 PM
Need some advice for a low budget PC ebdoradz CPU's and Motherboards 14 December 14, 2007 07:52 PM
My new budget-ish pc kcksteve CPU's and Motherboards 21 November 27, 2007 11:24 AM
Budget Gaming System Challenge BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 21 March 13, 2007 10:30 AM