Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 09:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
Default what is bus speed

so my motherboard supoprts 1600 bus speed, what does this mean? I have patriot viper series ddr2 1066 ram, would this also mean my cpu FSB would have to be 500x7 to reach the full potential of my ram and achieve my 3.6 oc?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 09:46 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

The FSB speed is equal to the base bus speed multiplied by 4 with Intel CPUs. 1600MHz FSB support means your motherboard will support CPUs with a bus speed of 400MHz, like the QX9770 for example. Most Core 2 CPUs use a bus speed of 266MHz or 333MHz, although lower-end CPUs use 200MHz and higher-end chips use 400MHz.

RAM speed depends on the specific FSB:DRAM ratio you set in the BIOS. If you use the lowest ratio, then the RAM speed will be double the bus speed, which would mean that in order to run your RAM at 1066MHz, you'd need a bus speed of 533MHz. However, you can use different dividers to obtain higher RAM speeds with lower bus speeds, so you can run your RAM faster while putting less strain on the chipset.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 10:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
The FSB speed is equal to the base bus speed multiplied by 4 with Intel CPUs. 1600MHz FSB support means your motherboard will support CPUs with a bus speed of 400MHz, like the QX9770 for example. Most Core 2 CPUs use a bus speed of 266MHz or 333MHz, although lower-end CPUs use 200MHz and higher-end chips use 400MHz.

RAM speed depends on the specific FSB:DRAM ratio you set in the BIOS. If you use the lowest ratio, then the RAM speed will be double the bus speed, which would mean that in order to run your RAM at 1066MHz, you'd need a bus speed of 533MHz. However, you can use different dividers to obtain higher RAM speeds with lower bus speeds, so you can run your RAM faster while putting less strain on the chipset.

i have a gigabyte p45 ud3l i guess it says the fsb or whatever is 1600 so this means i cannot run my cpu at 500x7 becuase my motherboard wont support it? i should also mention its supports 1333+ ram whatever the hell that means becuse all i found was ddr2 1066 which i bought.

Last edited by kuziwk; January 19, 2010 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 10:13 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Your motherboard does not officially support it, in the same way that your CPU does not officially support being run at speeds higher than its stock setting. By exceeding the motherboard's rating, you're overclocking it, just like you would a CPU or a video card. It doesn't necessarily mean the motherboard isn't capable of it, but it does mean that you may have to do some tweaking to get it to run.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 10:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Your motherboard does not officially support it, in the same way that your CPU does not officially support being run at speeds higher than its stock setting. By exceeding the motherboard's rating, you're overclocking it, just like you would a CPU or a video card. It doesn't necessarily mean the motherboard isn't capable of it, but it does mean that you may have to do some tweaking to get it to run.
ahh fair enough, such as voltage and what not, but for a q6600 to reach 3.5-3.6 the best ratio would be 500x7 with my ram? is this the only way to have my ram run at its potential or even overclock it?

what i dont understand is why does my motherboard support such high ram frequences yet has an fsb wall of 1600

Last edited by kuziwk; January 19, 2010 at 10:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 11:15 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,522

My System Specs

Default

Not quite the same thing.

Your memory will run at a multiple of whatever your fsb is. So if your FSB is 500 then the lowest your memory can run is 1-1 which works out to 500 X 2 = 1000. If you want your memory to run at a higher speed, you simply have to raise your memory multiplier so that it's running faster than 1-1. The limitation on memory speed on a C2D rig isn't the upper end, it's going over the max your memory can do because you can't do lower than 2XFSB.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 05:43 AM
kendallcschm's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 465

My System Specs

Default

so what does this mean:
2600MHz Hyper Transport (5200 MT/s)

i wanna know the limits of my board:
Newegg.com - ASUS M3A78-EM AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 11:51 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendallcschm View Post
so what does this mean:
2600MHz Hyper Transport (5200 MT/s)

i wanna know the limits of my board:
Newegg.com - ASUS M3A78-EM AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
HT is AMD's high-speed interconnect and is completely different from what we are discussing in this thread.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Greyhound Bus Killer Part 2 El_Fiendo Off Topic 15 May 28, 2009 08:08 AM
DRAM bus voltage Dogger1 Troubleshooting 13 February 18, 2009 08:12 AM
Man Beheaded on Greyhound Bus BALISTX Off Topic 77 August 7, 2008 09:14 PM
Bus driver blindly follows GPS, tries to fit 12-foot bus into 9-foot tunnel stoanee Off Topic 8 April 21, 2008 08:10 PM
Dropping BUS speed from within an OS 21YearsCanadian Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 March 28, 2007 02:44 PM