Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 05:56 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

You need the 710 or the 750 southbridge in order to unclock cores. The reason why 780G some CAN unlock cores because they have the new revision of the 710 southbridge.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 06:03 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,036

My System Specs

Default

This has got me really curious, as I believe ACC is Advanced Clock Calibration. I've never understood what it is or what it really does other than unlock cores. Kinda just took it for what it was and never asked the questions.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 06:07 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,921

My System Specs

Default

Remember it is not guaranteed to unlock to a quad core. My brother bought one and no matter how much voltages I put into it it wouldn't stay stable. But it is still a great dual core. But I would rather go with the 965 as it is a much better CPU and is still pretty cheap but it does cost more.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 06:13 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,036

My System Specs

Default

Here we go. I found it confusing that a southbridge would be so involved with the processor but this explains it:

Quote:
Motherboards equipped with the SB750 chipset has a new layout and sports a six-pin connection directly to the AM2+ CPU socket. These are the six pins that had been dormant. They makes it possible for the southbridge to override some of the processor's internal settings and thus increase the overclocking potential.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 06:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
Remember it is not guaranteed to unlock to a quad core. My brother bought one and no matter how much voltages I put into it it wouldn't stay stable. But it is still a great dual core. But I would rather go with the 965 as it is a much better CPU and is still pretty cheap but it does cost more.
I agree. Especially that it can be had now for $190ish.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 06:25 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,036

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
+1 for the 550BE! Even if it doesn't unlock to a quad, you can usually OC them close to 4GHz as a dual, and that's nothing to sneeze at for a $110 processor.
I get them to 3.8ghz as a quad, so 4.0ghz as a dual shouldn't be hard

However, the OP's motherboard has the SB700 chipset, and APPARENTLY* he needs a 710 or 750.



* As I have now learned
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 06:45 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
Remember it is not guaranteed to unlock to a quad core. My brother bought one and no matter how much voltages I put into it it wouldn't stay stable. But it is still a great dual core. But I would rather go with the 965 as it is a much better CPU and is still pretty cheap but it does cost more.
The 955 is a much better buy. All you have to do is bump up the multiplier a small bit and it's identical to the 965 for $30 cheaper. And then, of course, you can keep going and run it a lot higher.

Also, as for a CPU heatsink, if you're overclocking, the S1283 (previously the heatsink of choice) has since been eclipsed by the Hyper 212 Plus. Better temps, lower price.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 07:26 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raserei408 View Post
The 955 is a much better buy. All you have to do is bump up the multiplier a small bit and it's identical to the 965 for $30 cheaper. And then, of course, you can keep going and run it a lot higher.

.
My thoughts also.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 07:56 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

A 955BE will go higher than a 965BE?
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 05:07 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
A 955BE will go higher than a 965BE?
its all luck of draw like any other cpu

my unlocked x4 550 can clock better than a 955BE c2
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Announces 40W Six-Core AMD Opteron EE processor FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 4 August 31, 2009 12:43 PM
AMD vs. Intel Processor's? Hail Ceasar CPU's and Motherboards 16 November 3, 2008 10:14 AM
Best AMD processor for 250$ vikrant.forums CPU's and Motherboards 7 October 5, 2008 08:46 PM
Which AMD processor should I get. BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 9 December 22, 2007 03:46 PM
AMD Expands Upcoming Processor Branding: DailyTech Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 4, 2007 06:48 AM