Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2007, 12:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 54
Question evga 680 a1 dead :(

so i just finished building my new system yesterday and it worked for a full day, and now it doesnt post.

so i need a new board. i can rma the board with directcanada.com, but then which board should i get? the new gigabyte x38's look pretty good for my needs.

i need RAID support, and to be able to oc my new g0 quad.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2007, 12:58 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,722

My System Specs

Default

Did you try the ten steps?????

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/guide...ery-guide.html
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2007, 01:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 54
Default

i havent done all of those steps, but i am pretty sure the board is dead... this is what i have done.

basically the machine doesnt post at all. i was in the bios and i changed my mem voltage to 2.1 volts and a couple min later the system died... all other settings were at stock

- tried resetting cmos with jumper several times and also took out the battery and left it out for an extended period of time.
- tried booting with different combinations of ram in each slot
- checked all cables
- all fans turn on and graphics card fan spins

then someone suggested that i try booting without any ram at all to see if i get a long beep.

i did that and i dont get any beeps at all, so then this means the board is dead right?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2007, 01:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 54
Default

oh, and the boot code i get is the "--" code. the ppl in the evga forum seem to agree that my board is dead.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2007, 01:12 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,722

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like you've done just about everything you can without having more ram or a second CPU to use as a test.

Any reason you wouldn't want to do just a straight RMA for another 680i board?

What memory do you have? If it's lower grade / low clock ram you might want to stick with an Nvidia chipset to keep the ability to de-link the ram.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2007, 01:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 54
Default

i have some reasons for not wanting to just do a straight rma...

this "--" boot code has been causing a lot of problems for ppl with this board as i have recently read in the evga forums. i just dont want to rma it and have the same problem again.

the x38 board is priced at $286 at DC which is only about $60 more than the evga, so for less headaches i will happily pay the extra $60.

i have 2x1gb of ocz reaper pc8500 ram. i checked with the mods at the ocz forums to make sure that my ram worked with the evga board and they assured me that it did.

i do have two extra sticks of ram in another machine here, theyre 2x1gb of ocz pc5400 i think running at 667 MHz. would you recommend i try booting with those? i just dont want to fry that ram cuz its needed in that machine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2007, 01:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,722

My System Specs

Default

Well.... I'd say go for it, but stranger things have happened than boards which want to eat memory... that choice is completely up to you.... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2007, 10:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 54
Default

i actually got it working again... i was convinced by a person in the evga forum to reset the cmos and take the battery out and then take everything apart and put it back together... and it worked.

now its time to do some ocing.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2007, 09:48 PM
cmhyt's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thornhill(Toronto)
Posts: 66
Default

good job
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Joker is Dead! Cptn Vortex Off Topic 15 January 25, 2008 01:45 PM
Troubleshooting - PSU dead? MpG Power Supplies 2 September 4, 2007 03:56 PM
Dead ALC655? BMWDriver Audio 25 August 3, 2007 08:29 PM
AMD dead ? currently Jim CPU's and Motherboards 14 April 4, 2007 02:28 AM
680i DEAD DEAD DEAD sizerkozak CPU's and Motherboards 29 February 9, 2007 10:08 PM