Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 05:18 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
..... I've only heard negative things about ASUS's RMA's, I haven't had to use their service yet...
that's the problem people copy and paste the same BS all the time
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 05:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

I've heard horror stories about ASUS tech support, but after using probably around 15 years worth of ASUS products, I haven't had to RMA a single one. That's where I stand.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 05:27 PM
Snafu's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 175
Default

I have not had to rma any of my asus boards. Figured out most of it with help from sites like HWC.

However, when I did have a question for their support, there was no response months later and several emails. Ended up finding the answer on the net. This was the same experience my friends have had with them.

Hence the reason I call them "As_is" :D

This does not mean that I would not buy anything from them. I just know the situation and deal with it ;)
__________________
Newest system: Intel E8400, Gigabyte EP35-DS3P, OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers, Seagate 3GB/s HDD, etc.
Others are kicking around the house.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 05:27 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
I've heard horror stories about ASUS tech support, but after using probably around 15 years worth of ASUS products, I haven't had to RMA a single one. That's where I stand.
+1 same here..... in 25 years, I rma only 1 DOA board, it was an Intel, I see few of my Asus die well after 5 years, that's normal, the condenser leak with time. so for my experience, I conclude than those RMA are made by dude who have no idea how to build a system.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 05:30 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
+1 same here..... in 25 years, I rma only 1 DOA board, it was an Intel, I see few of my Asus die well after 5 years, that's normal, the condenser leak with time. so for my experience, I conclude than those RMA are made by dude who have no idea how to build a system.
I have ASUS boards that are over 10 years old and still work perfectly .
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 05:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 111

My System Specs

Default

I agree. While I did have to RMA an Asus motherboard before, it was DoA, so I could just RMA it from NCIX. It's never happened to me to have a board fail say, 6 months after I bought it. I'm sure it must happen sometimes, but I'd think it's pretty rare.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 05:49 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
I have ASUS boards that are over 10 years old and still work perfectly .

me too I have an Asus 440bx with a Intel Pentium III 550 , that still work like a Swiss clock , that's my OS2 warp Rig, that was the top board and CPU at the time
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 06:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
me too I have an Asus 440bx with a Intel Pentium III 550 , that still work like a Swiss clock , that's my OS2 warp Rig, that was the top board and CPU at the time
Is it a P2B? I had one of those, and to date I don't think I've ever seen a more reliable board.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 06:07 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

that's it ... a P2B and those 550 was with 512k cache. I buy this board in Philippines at the time, in 2000, so it's 10 years old now .
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 07:07 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
that's the problem people copy and paste the same BS all the time
Mark, I suggest you read back in the threads from before you joined before you blast me. I can recall 3-4 people who were denied RMA's in the last year for legitimate claims. And their technical support sucks, from personal experience. Ever tried navigating their website for a driver? Good luck.

You'll also see that I said I owned, used, and supplied ASUS products, but from an ease of use situation I prefer EVGA. The 24 hour tech support line is a great option for me, let alone someone without my experience.

I gave my opinion, your gave your opinion of my opinion, which I have now responded to. I'm out of this thread.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus vs. EVGA Helix CPU's and Motherboards 22 December 14, 2009 11:30 AM
asus or evga mobo? alterego New Builds 17 December 11, 2009 08:54 AM
ASUS v.s. EVGA kendallcschm Video Cards 28 December 5, 2009 01:24 PM
evga x58 vs. asus p6t deluxe v2 NexRedshirt CPU's and Motherboards 20 October 29, 2009 06:34 PM
ASUS P5N-T Deluxe VS. EVGA 780i SLI? Kaizer Soze CPU's and Motherboards 0 May 27, 2008 01:01 AM