Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 04:37 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Yes, they can handle 7 cards. It would be kind of pointless if they couldn't, no? ;)

Wait a minute You have to make sure the board will support the load, 7 GPU is a hell of load on the board, if someone want to go with 7, I suggest to use GPU with external Power Connector , at least it will be good to read the documentation of the board manufacturer about it, if such info is available of course

.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 04:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
Wait a minute You have to make sure the board will support the load, 7 GPU is a hell of load on the board, if someone want to go with 7, I suggest to use GPU with external Power Connector , at least it will be good to read the documentation of the board manufacturer about it, if such info is available of course

.
Depends on the cards, but you're right. It wouldn't be safe to use just any seven single-slot cards in this board, because something like a 9800GT without an external power connector would be too much for this board to accommodate seven of. I was just speaking in terms of whether or not the board would support seven cards simultaneously.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 05:03 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Zero, I jump on it , because we talk about it the other day , in an other post, about putting 4 GPU
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 05:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Yes, it was a good point to bring up.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes