Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2009, 09:50 AM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default Post your AMD set ups

Hello to all,
I am noodling around with the idea of building AMD next time. I have not looked at AMD since 754, so I am way out of touch. I hear the choice cpu is the 955? What is the good mid priced mobo? Does MSI have a good mid range mobo for building a gamer? And, what is the good ram/mobo match?
So if you will, please post your AMD mobo, cpu, and ram combo- recent generation please.
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2009, 11:47 AM
Luckk's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 81
Default

G.Skill is definitely a great ram setup, especially for overclocking.
__________________
Newbie! Over 9000. I'll burn your house down. Oh Hell Nah Hol' My Earrang. No, you! (WoW player, looking to play some Crysis, etc... once a new, better computer is built)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2009, 11:55 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

My rig is shown on the right side, it is recent, even if its not with the most recent AMD products, its quite close to top of the line and I wouldn't think of upgrading it to anything AMD currently has to offer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 01:58 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Soooo not too many AMD fans nowadays I guess. Thanks to both of you who responded - good points there.
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 02:13 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I'm an AMD Fan coz i'm Cheap!!!

Specs below.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 02:58 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,052

My System Specs

Default

First and Foremost on you Questions. Asus with their EVO is a great board and a very solid clocker if you're looking for a nice board, that or anything In Gigabyte's mid/high end arena.
As for the Chip, 965 all the way.

My AMD Setups.

ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
G.Skill RipJaw 1600 2x2GB DDR3
PII 965

ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO
Crucial 1333mhz 4x1 GB
PII 810

I love AMD. ANd I love INtel. Each for their own reasons.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 04:46 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Catharines, ON
Posts: 315

My System Specs

Default

Read Specs in upper right corner. System performs very well and I am 100% satisfied with it. *although I will eventually add a 2nd 5850 once the prices drop a bit... just because I can.*

Cheers!
AMD_Canuck :)
__________________
Se moquer de la philosophie, c'est vraiment philosopher. - Blaise Pascal
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 04:56 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

You gone make me build an AMD one of those day
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 05:20 PM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

I also Love AMD cause it"s not Intel
My System:
9850
M3A
4X1 gig Crucial Tracer W/Leds(Cause there trippy in the dark)
EVGA 260 SC
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 05:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,238

My System Specs

Default

Specs in my sig.........

One thing to watch out for.... I picked up a tri-channel set of ddr3 and didn't have a problem setting them up to work with AMD, but a lot of folks who aren't familiar with advanced memory settings have had problems with sets designed for Intel boards.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPS - What's this mean? JD Off Topic 13 December 18, 2009 08:42 AM
And i thought UPS was bad, great job Canada Post Jonwall Off Topic 45 April 9, 2009 04:12 PM
UPS again... zlojack Off Topic 23 February 5, 2009 10:22 AM
UPS, at it again Dr_BenD_over Off Topic 14 October 3, 2008 09:21 PM
1st Post Building AMD budget pc J2TheROC CPU's and Motherboards 4 July 13, 2007 10:36 AM