Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2009, 06:02 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default Max out the S775 or move up to I7?

So, should I upgrade my Q6600 to a Q9650 for about $450(shipping and taxes incl.) or go:

I7 860
Asus P7P55D Pro (fits the bill with 6 SATA on the Intel controller and a PCI and x1 PCI-E slot that would be usable in a CF setup)
4GB DDR3-1600
for approx $780-$810 depending on the shop and ram brand and getting the appropriate adapter from my TRUE

Going to I5 doesn't seem worth it and I would LOVE the HT on the I7. What kind of a 24/7 OC could I expect out of a 9650? I've run the Q6600 at 3.0 pretty much as long as I've had it (2years). What could I expect to get for my Q6600, P5Q Deluxe and 2x2GB PC2-6400 to offset the cost of the I7 path?
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2009, 07:21 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

At this point in the game, go I7.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2009, 07:37 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

I think it would be a waste of 450$ upgrading straight from one C2Q to another, the i5 or i7 would be the better route to go
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2009, 09:34 AM
MonsterSound's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ
Posts: 691

My System Specs

Default

I agree with the others re: selling your older CPU/MB/RAM and upgrading. I recently sold my C2duo/MB/RAM/HS for $260 and upgraded to the i5/P55/RAM/HS for $410. A pretty reasonable upgrade for the $150 difference.
The i7 setup will cost you more of course, but could be reasonable.
__________________
Code:
 my Heatware,  RFD &  eBay
MAIN: i5 3570 @ 4.5Ghz wH100 / evga GTX780 SOC / MSI Z77A-G45 / 8gb G.Skill 2133 1T / 30" 2560x1600 / Antec P280 / PCP&C 950w / Intel 520 SSD 240gb / Eclipse / G3-Lazer / z5300 / Win7 Pro64 / APC Xs1300
HTPC : nMedia6000B / AMD X2 4400+ / M2A-VM / Corsair 4GB 800 / LiteOn Blu-Ray / 8800GT / Samsung 46"LCD / 2x2TB / OCZ500 / ATI550 / Wrless Kbrd & Rmte / z-5500 / Win7Pro / APC700
"You must be the change you want to see in the world" 
- Mahatma Gandhi  
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2009, 09:42 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I guess I would be flogging a dead horse by sinking more money into a dead platform. Maybe I should just setup a push-pull fan arrangement on my TRUE and ramp the old Q6600 up to 3.6 and whip it until it dies, then hope I have enough funds for the I7 upgrade.

Intel Core i7 860 Quad Core Processor Lynnfield LGA1156 2.8GHZ Hyperthreading 8MB Cache Retail Box
ASUS P7P55D Pro LGA1156 P55 DDR3 3PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 PCI SLI CrossFireX 6SATA GBLAN 1394 Motherboard
Thermalright LGA1156 BOLT-THRU Kit for All LGA1156 Motherboards Ultra Series MUX-120
G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL Ripjaws PC3-12800 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 Core I5 1.5V Memory Kit

$775.99
__________________
All's well that's Haswell

Last edited by Dr_BenD_over; December 15, 2009 at 09:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2009, 11:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default

I would upgrade to I7 as well. Though, you could always go AM3 as well, they are great imo.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2009, 11:57 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seldszar View Post
I would upgrade to I7 as well. Though, you could always go AM3 as well, they are great imo.
Going AM3 from a Q6600 wouldn't be much of an upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2009, 11:06 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

I was in a similar situation as you.

I had an Asus P5Q-E (P45 based), an Intel Q9450 and lots of DDR2 RAM.

I decided to go with a P55 setup and the 860 CPU. The HT won me over and I never even considered the Core i5 CPUs. Just as you have the idea, I purchased a conversion bolt through kit which allowed me to transfer over my Ultra 120 cooler.

G.Skill Ripjaws RAM works well. I got a 4GB DDR3-2000 CL9 kit. It does about 15GB/s read, 15GB/s write, 20GB/s copy and a beautiful 41.6ns latency in Everest.

Pull the trigger man, you won't be disappointed.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2009, 11:56 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

I wouldn't sink more money into 775. i5 / i7 - whatever keeps you happy.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2009, 12:51 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Get a Q9550 for $220 ish (much cheaper than a Q9650) and overclock it to 3.6Ghz and call it a day.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T-Rad2 GTX the Best move I ever made MarkOne Video Cards 12 October 23, 2009 08:57 PM
Is it worth the move to I7? quikgp CPU's and Motherboards 31 May 14, 2009 04:31 PM
Cheapest way to move interprovincially? vulcan500rider Off Topic 11 October 5, 2008 10:41 AM
which one, and can i move it ? Unklmo Troubleshooting 4 June 30, 2007 07:23 PM