Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2009, 02:09 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

i7 all the way. Dont spend $ on 775 anymore
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2009, 02:34 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I7 860 +1. I think you can lead a 860 around 4Ghz with some playing. Eldonko does and I am trying to do it.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2009, 05:17 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

Go i7 because you already have a quad 775 so it wouldn't make a whole lot of sense. You can sell off your old system parts and now you have ram and a mobo that will last a lot longer.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 05:08 PM
SecuritySic's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I have no idea why you need to upgrade unless you just want to buy something for the fun of it or your'e running some extremely demanding programs. You can push that Q6600 to 3.6GHz with that board easily. What video card do you have? Maybe it's giving you problems in video games.
In my opinion it's better sit out till the hardware is unbearable. I'm with a Q6600 too, pushing it further and further (4GHz atm, vdroop/vmch/cpu ppl mods on P5K-E) and I have no problems running any games CPU wise.
As I said, don't upgrade unless you want the joy of new stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 05:27 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Go with a good P55 board , and take a I5 750 if you are out of budget for the 860, at least the base will be solid. You can always sell the I5 later. I know not all the CPU clock the same, but my 750 go at 4,2 with a 212+ and under 65'c ,
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 05:30 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
I7 860 +1. I think you can lead a 860 around 4Ghz with some playing. Eldonko does and I am trying to do it.
with a blue motherboard , beter get something black and red
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 06:09 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SecuritySic View Post
I have no idea why you need to upgrade unless you just want to buy something for the fun of it or your'e running some extremely demanding programs. You can push that Q6600 to 3.6GHz with that board easily. What video card do you have? Maybe it's giving you problems in video games.
In my opinion it's better sit out till the hardware is unbearable. I'm with a Q6600 too, pushing it further and further (4GHz atm, vdroop/vmch/cpu ppl mods on P5K-E) and I have no problems running any games CPU wise.
As I said, don't upgrade unless you want the joy of new stuff.

He's a folder, he most likely wants to get more performance out of his computer not just for gaming but to get more ppd as well. An i7 would allow him to do big adv work units and get the points out of them rather then a Qxxxx where he'd not be getting nearly as much. Its not all just about gaming for some of us on here.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 10:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
I know not all the CPU clock the same, but my 750 go at 4,2 with a 212+ and under 65'c ,
What program were you using to stress the CPU and get those temperatures? Try OCCT/LinX/IntelBurnTest and see what that gets you. 65C sounds very low unless you have a very low ambient temperature as well.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 11:06 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

If you are folding then go with an i7 920 setup and triple ram for 6GB. bigadv will eat much of the 6GB (4.6GB) is ideal for those WUs.

Otherwise what you have is a fun upgrade.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2009, 10:24 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Doc I dare you to upgrade to i7.. Man fellow Core 2's, stop leaving me in dust :p..

Just j/k.. I'll have to agree with others too, although it's up to you, if funds allow you to go for an i7 setup, go for it.. if not i7 860 P55 chipset setup, which still is pretty darn good, if still not.. then settle for the i5 750..

Although, I would choose the option you mentioned, clock the Q6600 to the limits and then when you have the proper funds move up..

Not everybody is troubled with the recession, but if I were you, I would save that extra bit of money, in case you ever need it.. It's more like do you really need to upgrade, a Q6600 is still pretty good.. Just a friendly talk, don't come hunting for me aight :D..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T-Rad2 GTX the Best move I ever made MarkOne Video Cards 12 October 23, 2009 09:57 PM
Is it worth the move to I7? quikgp CPU's and Motherboards 31 May 14, 2009 05:31 PM
Cheapest way to move interprovincially? vulcan500rider Off Topic 11 October 5, 2008 11:41 AM
which one, and can i move it ? Unklmo Troubleshooting 4 June 30, 2007 08:23 PM