Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2007, 10:51 AM
xrmarcis's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Truro
Posts: 5

My System Specs

Default Opteron Experiment

Whats up everyone. I'm new to this forum and though maybe some people might be interested in my little experiment.

Newly purchased.

Opteron 180 (Toledo) 2.4Ghz 2Mb cache
Asus A8N32 SLI-DELUXE
EverCool Silver Knight WaterCooled Heatsink

Other System Parts

XFX 7900GS XXX 256Mb PCI-e (Plans for SLI soon)
2 x 1Gb OCZ PC3200 ELPE (2.5 - 3 - 2 - 5)
2 x 250Gb Hitachi SATA II IDE Mode
LITE-ON DVDRW LH-20A1L SATA

My goal is to at least Hit 3.0Ghz which is really not that much of an overclock but thats my starting goal.

Anyone have any experience with the opterons and or this asus board? Any input would be appreciated

Another question that i thought i should ask opinions on would be investing in another card for sli or a better card? I'm sure there are plenty of people out there including myself that going to a newer age card would be the way to go but would SLI with these cards stomp a single newer card?

Well post if you got any info.

Last edited by xrmarcis; September 21, 2007 at 11:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2007, 12:04 PM
arbb5's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Truro, Nova Scotia
Posts: 22
Default

Welcome to the forum from a fellow Truro man, I am running a Opty 165 24/7 Stable at 2.7Ghz with a A8N-SLI SE. Opty's are usually good overclockers depending on the steppings.
A couple free programs you might want to use are a64 MemFreq, and ClockGen. ClockGen lets you change the FSB(HTT) in windows and MemFreq calculates RAM speed. When you get it running good in Windows restart and change setting you got in Windows into Bios. This page helped immensely: AMD64 Overclocking Guide (07/11/06) - i4memory.com Good luck with it.

Also what temps are you getting with that cooler?, I am getting approx 45-50 under load with the vcore @1.45 IHS removed from the cpu and the freezer64.
__________________
Phenom II X2 555BE Unlocked to X4@3.6ghz / GA-870A-UD3 / 4 Gig (2x2GB) G.Skill F3 Ripjaws / EVGA GTX260 / Skythe Yasya / Tagan 2 Force II 600W



Last edited by arbb5; September 21, 2007 at 12:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2007, 02:45 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default greetings

Ah so the 939 isnt dead yet! Personally I think youve made a good choice as long as the price was good.

I really like the opterons, games are very smooth-the extra cache helps. That board is also very solid and fast.

There is a guide to ocing the asusa8n32 board in the forum..its really important to get the HTT settings right. A8N32 Quickie OC guide

With the multi on your cpu and the headroom on your board 3ghz is not an issue.

It really depends on your cpu stepping though. CCBWE i think was the not so good ..CCBBE, LCB9E are good ones. Just follow arbb5's link and keep the temps below 55oc otherwise its not good.

My only irritation with this board is that you are forced to link memory to the FSB with preset frequencies only. This should not be an issue with your multi on the cpu though.

I can hit an 2.95 on this opteron comfortably but have to drop the RAM from 166mhz to 133mhz as it cannot handle
DDR270*2. This then drops the RAM to DDR218*2

have fun anyway
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2007, 04:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Looking forward to hearing how you make out with this build.

I have fond memories of my S754 & S939 overclocking experiences.

There are quite a few good resources out there for overclocking S939, so you should have no problems finding a good guide.

Once you get the CPU OC stable, do some googling for the A64 memory overclocking guide. CPU speed trumps mem on S939, but there are some major gains to be made from spending some time on your mem timings.

I didn't quite manage a full 1 sec improvement of 1M super-pi, but it was at least .75 of a second.

Oh... BTW... welcome to the forums!!!!

It's great to see another down-easter here on the forums!
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2007, 05:25 PM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

The Opteron 1xx family were one-way workstation chips for 939; very, very popular with overclockers in the past as well as recently as their trading prices have gone down. You'll be able to pull 2800MHz quite comfortably, no concerns aside from the factory heatsink's thermal pad. The most you'd need is a more conductive thermal compound to replace the original and you're set. Optys are really just higher-yield versions of the Athlons from the same wafer, with better heat and frequency tolerances. 3000Mhz is going to need a replacement heatsink. Maybe put the computer near the air-conditioner for an improvised boost in cooling?

Nice memory.

P.S.: If memory serves me right, the dual-core 1xx family were based on the Denmark core.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2007, 10:00 AM
xrmarcis's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Truro
Posts: 5

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the feedback and i will try to do overclocks today.

For temp software what should i be running???

I tried MM5 but it does not seem to pic up my sensors even though there not going to accurate it would be nice to get some idea of what its running at. Its funny it lists A8N32 SLI wireless version and not my board the SLI deluxe???

Should they not be close to the same architecture?

I had thought about running a dry hose from my mini bar fridge to the front of my case to get it some cold air but i'll see how the heatsink works first. lol

My buddy just bought my Opti 165, AC cooler and DFI Ultra-D board that i had running before and he puished it to 2.25 so far. He loves it so thats what gave me the idea to get a decent cooler and see if i can push my new opti just a little.

Any comments on the video portion of my first post????
__________________
------------------------
Intel E8400
4Gb OCZ DDR2 1066
XFX 8800GS XXX 384Mb
750Gb WD Black SATAII
LITE-ON DVDRW SATA
Windows 7 64 bit
------------------------

Last edited by xrmarcis; September 22, 2007 at 10:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2007, 10:35 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default dont go sli

with your board and that cpu >2.7 th enew 8800 series run very very well. You should be able to nudge 9500 3dmark06 with a superclocked GTS. A GTX will break the 10000 barrier with that cpu no problems. In SLI with the 7900GS i doubt you break 7000 no matter how much you oc it.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2007, 04:07 PM
arbb5's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Truro, Nova Scotia
Posts: 22
Default

I find that Core temp work about the best for me, you can get it here wwe.thecoolest.zerobrains.com/CoreTemp/
__________________
Phenom II X2 555BE Unlocked to X4@3.6ghz / GA-870A-UD3 / 4 Gig (2x2GB) G.Skill F3 Ripjaws / EVGA GTX260 / Skythe Yasya / Tagan 2 Force II 600W


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2007, 12:44 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

I have an Opti 170 on a DFI Nforce4 SLI Expert, and it runs 2.95 Stable as a rock, at 55 degrees Max. Lovely chips!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
would a 8800GTS be bottleneck by an opteron 165@2.4ghz magictorch CPU's and Motherboards 16 June 19, 2007 07:57 PM
AMD readies 50% Opteron price cuts Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 6 May 31, 2007 05:31 AM
good 939 motherboard and case for opteron 165 magictorch CPU's and Motherboards 7 April 9, 2007 02:44 PM
opteron 165 will not POST magictorch Troubleshooting 13 April 9, 2007 02:34 PM
AMD rolls out 3GHz Opteron Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 April 9, 2007 06:11 AM