Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 02:59 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default is Gigabyte trying to cheat something?

hey guys,
check this out!
this is the Gigabyte P55A-UD5 mb I bought today.
the cpu socket cover and cpu socket is a mix??
the cpu socket cover is Lotes, however the cpu socket is Foxconn!!
as I read some news on the internet, the foxconn cpu socket have some burnt issue.
does Gigabyte’s factory have some problem? If not, why they mix it?
Or
is Gigabyte trying to cheat something?
does anyone buy the same Gigabyte mb and find the same issue?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 03:06 PM
kendallcschm's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 465

My System Specs

Default

i think they went with the cheapest stuff... foxconn had a cheaper socket and lotes had a cheaper cover.. or foxconn and lotus are one company.. (one bought the other) there are many possibilities.. perhaps yours is a fluke
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 03:17 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

This issue has come out recently - apparently Gigabyte's claims to have switched over to the Lotes socket weren't entirely accurate.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 03:25 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,403
Default

Why does this matter?

Please tell me without talking about burnt socket pins for people using phase to push / cascade / LN2 to push their CPUs because there are about 4 people on this whole site who will do that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 03:30 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Yes, we'll never see the burn marks, but the marks are the result of poor ball contact, a crappy fitting socket. We can have stability issues at overclocks because of this.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 03:33 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 517

My System Specs

Default

I've seen LOTES sockets with foxconn covers and vice-versa.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 03:34 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Yes, we'll never see the burn marks, but the marks are the result of poor ball contact, a crappy fitting socket. We can have stability issues at overclocks because of this.
My point here is that the issue could also be attributed to improper pressure from the socket cover. As such, maybe Gigabyte saw that changing the cover only will alleviate this "burning".

In addition, I have not seen a single Gigabyte press release or media slide that claims a LOTES socket on their A-series boards.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 05:47 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
We can have stability issues at overclocks because of this.
Poor contact will not cause stability issues. It causes greater electrical resistance which can cause fires at higher current draws (which is what happens with those burnt socket problems), but other than that it will have no impact on stability.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte vs Sapphire ElArZ Video Cards 12 November 17, 2009 12:44 AM
who uses cheat codes? BrianHanna Gaming 32 February 1, 2009 11:11 PM
Anyone used the gigabyte 3D Mars? EaGle1337 Cases 0 November 2, 2008 03:38 PM
Help me cheat! Prof. Dr. Silver Gaming 18 January 18, 2008 02:34 PM
ASUS Goes for the Gigabyte Shadowmeph Press Releases & Tech News 6 December 15, 2007 01:39 PM