Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 09:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 133
Default Really Pushing The 920 To Its Limit !

OK ill going to say im a right noob at overclocking
When i take my Bus Speed Over 212.5 x20+1 With Turbo=x21
My pc will just CRASH Or BSOD
Im running Corsair Dominator's at 1866mhz-Stock, Yeah i got better ones then the 1600mhz before

Anyway around this...? i wana hit 4500ghz So Bad
Just to add the CPU temp is not an issue that i know of anyway..

__________________
Build Progress.

Brought...
Tick - Intel Core i7 920
Tick - EVGA X58 SLI LE Intel X58
Tick - Corsair 850W HX PSU
Tick - Corsair 12gb Ram 1666MHz
Tick - Corsair H50 Water Cooling
Tick - Corsair 800D Case
Tick - WD 1TB Hdd WD1001FALS
Tick - NZXT Sentry LX (Fan Controller)
Tick - Razer Diamondback, Mouse
Tick - Razer Lycosa, Keyboard
Tick - ATI 5870 Graphics Card x1


Need...
Untick - ATI 5870 Graphics Card x3
Untick - LG CH08LS10 Blu Ray
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 09:50 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

Take out 6gb of ram. It's very hard to overclock with 12gb on board. But you've got a 2.66 ghz chip running at 4.4. What's the issue? I'm having trouble cracking 4.0 with mine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 10:14 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,598

My System Specs

Default

Though I think a Vcore of 1.49V may become an issue...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 10:27 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Though I think a Vcore of 1.49V may become an issue...
Just did 1.5, 1.65 & 1.70 Nope still same
__________________
Build Progress.

Brought...
Tick - Intel Core i7 920
Tick - EVGA X58 SLI LE Intel X58
Tick - Corsair 850W HX PSU
Tick - Corsair 12gb Ram 1666MHz
Tick - Corsair H50 Water Cooling
Tick - Corsair 800D Case
Tick - WD 1TB Hdd WD1001FALS
Tick - NZXT Sentry LX (Fan Controller)
Tick - Razer Diamondback, Mouse
Tick - Razer Lycosa, Keyboard
Tick - ATI 5870 Graphics Card x1


Need...
Untick - ATI 5870 Graphics Card x3
Untick - LG CH08LS10 Blu Ray
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 10:44 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

honestly, are you going to sense that extra .1ghz???
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 10:46 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

I would not want to go that high on the vcore in fears of actually frying my chip or motherboard
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 10:48 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Your voltages are insane even if you're water cooling. Only a matter of time before something dies.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 10:51 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

It smell like soon CPU frying:) Vcore is way to high!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 10:53 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

You also have the wrong temperatures for the cpu you should be worry about highlighted as well. They aren't those low ones, they are the ones beside it named CPU core 1 to 4
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 10:55 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

If you want your CPU to last more than a few days without shitting its pants, keep your Vcore below 1.5V.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Pushing AMD 955 Black Edition Surfer_2099 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 20 November 1, 2009 04:34 PM
Pushing the Limits Perhaps? Soultribunal Power Supplies 14 May 17, 2009 10:30 PM
How can I limit Bitlord...? Lamb Networking 21 April 24, 2009 06:59 PM
Pushing the PC gaming boundaries magictorch Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 16, 2007 06:45 AM
Help! Trouble!..pushing the FSB to high! francois methot Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 23 March 11, 2007 10:16 AM