Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 06:14 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

load temps that is what matters so what are they? ( i still think any thing over 50 idle is high but load is all that matter ) offtopic i had a old p4 that idle at like 50c loads at 75c and a member here is still running it today that's getting old almost 6 or 7 years maybe longer been at max voltage it's whole life
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 06:41 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

If you look at all the reviews, the H50 idles high. So your load temps should be relatively low in comparison...
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 06:57 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 133
Default

Right i fixed it !
I found out that corsairs new socket what they sent dont even press down on the pump fully
I never tested my old socket but you can tell its better made... I open'd the H50 and it just leaked out all this wired fluid stuff so i did a rma
Ill be sure to go back and get my 4.5ghz now !
Ill post when im done... OMG 100th post YAY
My new temps


What i fixed...

__________________
Build Progress.

Brought...
Tick - Intel Core i7 920
Tick - EVGA X58 SLI LE Intel X58
Tick - Corsair 850W HX PSU
Tick - Corsair 12gb Ram 1666MHz
Tick - Corsair H50 Water Cooling
Tick - Corsair 800D Case
Tick - WD 1TB Hdd WD1001FALS
Tick - NZXT Sentry LX (Fan Controller)
Tick - Razer Diamondback, Mouse
Tick - Razer Lycosa, Keyboard
Tick - ATI 5870 Graphics Card x1


Need...
Untick - ATI 5870 Graphics Card x3
Untick - LG CH08LS10 Blu Ray
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 07:44 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

not sure if i would trust e-leet temp software i would check it out with real temp. jmo ( what are you using now for cooling )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 08:08 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,141
Default

Well, that's definitely an improvement. But if you're serious about overclocking, you'll need to keep a close eye on your fully loaded temps. They're going to be much higher than your idle temps.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 08:31 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Well, that's definitely an improvement. But if you're serious about overclocking, you'll need to keep a close eye on your fully loaded temps. They're going to be much higher than your idle temps.
Yeah i been using core temp along with cpu-z all show same
My cores dont go any higher then 65 when running GTA Maxxed !
__________________
Build Progress.

Brought...
Tick - Intel Core i7 920
Tick - EVGA X58 SLI LE Intel X58
Tick - Corsair 850W HX PSU
Tick - Corsair 12gb Ram 1666MHz
Tick - Corsair H50 Water Cooling
Tick - Corsair 800D Case
Tick - WD 1TB Hdd WD1001FALS
Tick - NZXT Sentry LX (Fan Controller)
Tick - Razer Diamondback, Mouse
Tick - Razer Lycosa, Keyboard
Tick - ATI 5870 Graphics Card x1


Need...
Untick - ATI 5870 Graphics Card x3
Untick - LG CH08LS10 Blu Ray
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 08:57 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

GTA is not exactly the ultimate CPU stress test. Download IntelBurnTest and put your system through at least 20 runs. Keep an eye on your temps and make sure everything is stable.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 09:17 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,575

My System Specs

Default

You should also use core temp or real temp as your temperature monitoring program as well. Real temp will allow you to see as well the % engaged/used of your cpu as well as the highest/lowest temps its seen
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 09:26 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Not sure what you said about your H50 there....Now that your idle temps seem more right, what matters is the load temps. Keep them below 75C and you should be good to go.

For stress testing program, I run OCCT for like 4 hours. I'm not a fan of IBT and will never be a fan. For me, the temperature difference between OCCT and IBT is up to 30C. Will I really use my computer to the point where it can fail IBT but pass IBT? No.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 09:43 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JORD4N View Post
My cores dont go any higher then 65 when running GTA Maxxed !
As the others have said, GTA4 isn't a great stress test.
Running the benchmark maximum CPU usage I've seen is 40% with all settings maxed.
It may go a bit higher than that at times during gameplay, but definately won't be running 100%.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Pushing AMD 955 Black Edition Surfer_2099 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 20 November 1, 2009 04:34 PM
Pushing the Limits Perhaps? Soultribunal Power Supplies 14 May 17, 2009 10:30 PM
How can I limit Bitlord...? Lamb Networking 21 April 24, 2009 06:59 PM
Pushing the PC gaming boundaries magictorch Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 16, 2007 06:45 AM
Help! Trouble!..pushing the FSB to high! francois methot Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 23 March 11, 2007 10:16 AM