Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2007, 04:41 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default AMD's Barcelona quads are here at NCIX

AMD's quad cores are here. http://www.ncix.com/new/

1.8 ghz $300 ouch.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2007, 04:45 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

Socket F.... :(
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2007, 04:55 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,500

My System Specs

Default

Barcelona is not meant for Desktop.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2007, 05:06 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default

I know just making a statement
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2007, 06:35 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,500

My System Specs

Default

Be careful when comparing clock speeds because from everything I read so far, Barcelona cores are faster clock for clock. The only real issue now is if they can get the clock speeds high enough to overcome Kentsfield.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 04:15 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
Barcelona is not meant for Desktop.
coming from a guy with a quad intel? xeon no less.
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 06:30 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,500

My System Specs

Default

My Xeon is S775 and is made to run on most any S775 desktop board that supports C2D. The Barcelona is a Socekt F CPU that pretty much requires a workstation type board plus I also believe it requires ECC memory (I am not sure of this). I think it is possible to run them on the dual socket F enthusiast boards, but that is another thing I am not even remotely sure of. Either way, Phenon is the S940 version of Barcelona and it will be here soon enough to show us that AMD is far from dead and can still go toe to toe with Intel.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 07:33 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default oh great!

first wave here already. Hopefully the AM2+ sockets are not far behind. I think i remember a review showing a 2ghz chip giving a Qextreme edition a bit of a hiding. Plus they seem to really get those 2900XT's fired up to some crazy 3marks.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 09:21 AM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

Socket 1207 does not *require* registered memory. The dual-socket 1207 L1N64 that's been out for more than a year uses standard DDR2 DIMMs. Also, it can be run with only one socket populated with a processor. The new Barcelona should be retroactive with the existing 1207 boards.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 07:52 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Um Um Um..... wow.... am i the only one that just thought of this?... that Socket F Asus board has 2 sockets.... so 2x quad core optys = possible 8 cores? Shazzam!!! Sweet ba-jebus!!! I think i know my next upgrade
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
45nm Quads? biff CPU's and Motherboards 30 April 13, 2008 11:55 AM
AMD demonstrates Barcelona Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 6, 2007 05:13 AM
AMD's DX10...stinks? Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 7 June 5, 2007 07:23 AM
AMD's Phenom: Anandtech Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 8 May 14, 2007 08:15 AM
A look at Barcelona Architecture Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 March 19, 2007 08:07 AM