Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2007, 09:33 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,662
Default P5N32-E SLI board

So I just picked up this board to pair it with a e6600 and notice a few weird anomalies.

1) Running WCPUID will reboot the machine
2) Running coretemp beta will reboot the machine
3) PC Wizard voltage for CPU shows 0.10
4) SiSoft Sandra can't check out the mainboard info

Shall I assume either the motherboard or cpu is flakey? I ran Prime95 for over 5 hours and didn't have any issues.

Curious of what you guys think.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2007, 10:11 PM
JayDee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hehe... same here

I have P5N32-E SLI Plus 650i

WCPUID = reboot
Sandra = no mobo info
CoreTemp runs fine I but don't know if it's the same version = my version is 0.95

What BIOS are you at?
I'm at 0501
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2007, 10:14 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayDee View Post
Hehe... same here

I have P5N32-E SLI Plus 650i

WCPUID = reboot
Sandra = no mobo info
CoreTemp runs fine I but don't know if it's the same version = my version is 0.95

What BIOS are you at?
I'm at 0501
I just put the latest one on... makes me feel better knowing I'm not alone!
I checked the event viewer and I'm getting a weird bugcheck failure.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2007, 10:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,712

My System Specs

Default

Somebody apparently is a bit sensitive to having certain bios addresses probed........ :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2007, 10:32 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Somebody apparently is a bit sensitive to having certain bios addresses probed........ :)
hmm? Care to explain?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2007, 10:45 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,712

My System Specs

Default

If it's rebooting when monitoring software "probes" it then there must be some high level memory addresses that it doesn't like sharing.

Did you try turning off the built-in intel anti-virus protection? (I don't remember what it's called but it's probably listed in the same area as the virtualization in bios).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2007, 10:57 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If it's rebooting when monitoring software "probes" it then there must be some high level memory addresses that it doesn't like sharing.

Did you try turning off the built-in intel anti-virus protection? (I don't remember what it's called but it's probably listed in the same area as the virtualization in bios).
Well I fiddled with some things and it turns out its actually a BSOD with the error in file nrkctl32.sys which is part of WCPUID and crashes out. So I'm thinking WCPUID won't work with 680i boards.

** NOTE ** I've also noticed in CPU-Z that it shows my cpu running at 266x9 and in everest home edition its 343x7
** NOTE ** I've now gotten a hold of Everest Ultimate Edition and it shows 266x9 with 1.3v

Seems PC Wizard, Everest HE, and Sisoft don't work well with some 680i boards.

Last edited by enaberif; September 6, 2007 at 01:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS P5N32-SLI Deluxe Rapid-X Buy/Sell & Trade 10 March 9, 2008 03:48 PM
asus p5n32 sli Rapid-X CPU's and Motherboards 1 February 28, 2008 01:43 PM
PC Perspectives reviews: Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus Hybrid Chipset Motherboard Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 March 6, 2007 08:40 AM
Asus Announces 680i Chipset Based P5N32-E SLI Gav CPU's and Motherboards 2 December 12, 2006 11:05 PM