Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2007, 02:13 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,921

My System Specs

Default

I was having overheating problems on my build. But all I had to do is reset the heatsink and the problem went away.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2007, 08:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 33
Default

Oh wow, I ran Orthos Beta for about 25 minutes, and it would reach around 85 degrees, and I'm afraid to let it go any higher. Ahhhhh I don't want my new comp to be destroyed in a few days... ><
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2007, 09:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 33
Default

Omg! BLAHHH, after the Orthos test, my cpu area is starting to make a hitch pitch buzzing noise, I dont think it's the fan because it makes the noise at any fan speed. Also when applications are loading, the noise stops, and comes back on once the loading is finished. weh.. whats happening?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2007, 09:31 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

well your load temps haven't changed so you still have a mount issue i suspect. as for the high pitch noise, that is likely your motherboard. odd that it stops when there is a load and comes back when it goes to idle. its usually the other way around.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2007, 09:32 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

Maybe you've fried a capacitor/MOSFET/whatever else? Those temps are through the roof. Either you have the worst case air flow ever, aka none, or you have installed the heatsink wrong.

I wouldn't be running my computer at 85C. If I saw that, I'd kill the power ASAP. If the CPU is pumping out 85C of heat, imagine what all the other components around it are running at...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2007, 05:11 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,397

My System Specs

Default

What part of the country are you located in Song?

If you're down this way I could drop in and slap that AC 7 Pro on it to see if it's a HSF problem.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2007, 09:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 33
Default

I live in Mississauga, Ont
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2007, 05:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 33
Default

Well, alright, thanks everyone. I believe I got my CPU's temperature to a decent temperature. I readded thermal paste (used Arctic Silver 5).
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2007, 05:07 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

A lot better but still a bit high for stock I'd say.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2007, 05:49 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

I would say that if your temps dropped 20 degrees just by re installing your hsf then the problem is either with how you are applying the thermal compoud or how you are installing the heatsink itself or both....just my 2 cents.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop temp killerklown Mobile Computing 7 March 6, 2008 12:32 AM
E6750 temp help? jasonmoreau CPU's and Motherboards 18 January 23, 2008 03:07 PM
Fan Control and temp sensors. chibi_man Water Cooling 3 October 4, 2007 07:16 PM
CPU Temp?? BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 7 August 22, 2007 02:19 PM
CPU temp or Core temp? E6420 NOOB Delavan CPU's and Motherboards 18 May 28, 2007 05:07 AM