Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 15, 2009, 01:46 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default Getting the cheapest motherboard

Hey guys,

I am fairly new to the whole build your own computer sort of thing. Up until a couple months ago, I wouldn't dare take apart my machine for anything more than a video card or RAM upgrade. After being forced to take out my motherboard to install an aftermarket heatsink on my own machine (and successfully putting it back together), I've got this irresistible itch to put together other computers.

Anyway, so I am looking at putting together a new machine for my parents. My parent's are not enthusiasts by any means, won't care about over-clocking, "extreme!!1" speeds or whatever else. However, I still want to be able to give them something that will still be useable, "snappy" and functional 3 or 4 years from now. Really, I just want to make sure browser applications like Flash and Silverlight don't kill their machine in the immediate future. I'm looking at going AMD because of some of the news I've heard about Intel's business practices and AMD is cheaper anyways.

So this brings me to the point of this thread. Is there any reason not to chose the cheapest AMD board I can find? Regularly I can find motherboards for less than $100 that support the latest and greatest AMD CPUs. Like this one from Memory Express.

So, any reason why I wouldn't want to choose a really cheap motherboard and then pair it with a decent CPU and other parts?
Old October 15, 2009, 01:56 PM
F@H

My System Specs

Hey there!
Welcome to the forums (just in case nobody else has yet).

That board is a surefire budget board but like anything else you get what you pay for in a sense.
I am a fan of both Intel and AMD for different reasons , but I can suggest one good board that will last for a while to come.