Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 12:26 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 956

My System Specs

Default

whilst amd has been using the same socket for roughly 5 years, then changed to a new socket where the chips are backwards compatible with previous generation motherboards.I love the fact that the same zalman cooler i got with my first 754 setup still works on my brand spankin new am3 board .(using that until my new waterblock comes in). I was very close to pulling the trigger on an intel system until i realized the upgrade path for the system i wanted was a dead end right from the get go.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 01:36 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Intel is pissing me off a bit with the socket shuffle they're doing lately.

Honestly, I'd love for someone to explain to me WHY they need to change sockets with every chip. If it's connections then build a socket with 1400 pins and make all future chips use that for a while, dammit.

Right now you can buy socket 775, 1366 and 1156. Am I missing one? Gettin a bit stupid.
+1. Suddenly my LGA1366 i7-920 is an LGA1156 i7-860, which is like a QX9770 with more threads. D'OH! I'm sure there's SOME reason they absolutely, positively, for whatever reason it may be CANNOT make it simple and do something like that...perhaps something technical. But we all know it makes them more money, no?

Future of AM3?

AM4, [removed]...
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One

Last edited by MAC; October 10, 2009 at 04:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2009, 09:43 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 670

My System Specs

Default

There is always the budget Athlon II x4, which when paired with a meaty GPU (5770 for ex) would run slightly slower (if noticeable) than a 720 or 955.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 08:06 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

All AMD needs to improve on is their instructions per cycle performance. If they can master that, like Intel has (well, since they're really the only other company to compare to), then they have a solid chip. Instead of adding more and more transistors, they should look at the barebones and see if any of the structure can be reorganized and recoded. GPUs are much easier to design because of their massively parallel architecture, SIMD. With CPUs though, they need to balance out how much cache should be used for data and instructions, see how big a pipeline should be before it gives diminishing returns, etc. AMD definitely got it right with Phenom II, but because they were a generation behind in terms of speed, they got hurt by the 1156 socket. Gaddamn Hector! Milking the Athlon line was a huge mistake!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Am3 OC'n board? BobbyLou CPU's and Motherboards 3 July 5, 2009 08:20 PM
Best AM3 Board. Sawtooth CPU's and Motherboards 11 April 5, 2009 08:26 PM
Best AM3 Board. Sawtooth New Builds 3 March 29, 2009 08:19 PM
Where's the AM3 Motherboards? CMetaphor CPU's and Motherboards 15 January 15, 2009 02:29 PM
Maybe a Future Build. BALISTX New Builds 32 November 28, 2008 10:16 AM