Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2007, 04:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London
Posts: 10
Default Asus P5n-e Sli

Does anybody know if this motherboard comes with the updated bios(from Direct Canada)? I plan to get a E6750, it won't be a problem if I can update it without having to use a compatible processor.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2007, 05:28 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

don't know the answer to your question but if you post your location, someone may be willing to help out should it not be an updated BIOS and make the question irrelevant.

if your in the london ontario area, consider yourself covered.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2007, 05:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London
Posts: 10
Default

So people in London should get the updated version? I'm in London Ontario by the way :D. Or do you mean the computer shops here will update it?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2007, 07:00 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

hehe, i mean, i will update it for you should you need it
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2007, 07:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London
Posts: 10
Default

Do you work at a computer place or anything? I'm just not sure if I'd want to take it to someones house, not sure though
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2007, 07:27 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

It should work alright, worse comes to worst the CPU will just run slower (1066FSB) and then you can update the BIOS to support it properly.

And you could always take it somewhere and have them flash it for you. Seeing as 3oh6 is a reviewer on here, I'd think he could be trusted.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2007, 07:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London
Posts: 10
Default

I imagine I could. I probably would actually, so the processor would still work and it would just run slower? Are you sure thats what would happen?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2007, 07:45 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil90 View Post
Do you work at a computer place or anything? I'm just not sure if I'd want to take it to someones house, not sure though
sorry, i just assume everyone knows me. as jdrom17 said, i am a reviewer here as well as other places and have been in the overclocking community for years. trust me, if you need a BIOS update, it isn't a problem...i do this for a living, everything from build systems to bench under sub-zero cooling.

sometimes when people openly offer good deeds on forums you need to be cautious but this isn't one of those times, just a computer guy offering another computer guy who happens to live in the same city a solid. ask anyone here, at OCX, XS, O2, PlanetAMD64...they'll vouch for me.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2007, 07:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
sorry, i just assume everyone knows me. as jdrom17 said, i am a reviewer here as well as other places and have been in the overclocking community for years. trust me, if you need a BIOS update, it isn't a problem...i do this for a living, everything from build systems to bench under sub-zero cooling.

sometimes when people openly offer good deeds on forums you need to be cautious but this isn't one of those times, just a computer guy offering another computer guy who happens to live in the same city a solid. ask anyone here, at OCX, XS, O2, PlanetAMD64...they'll vouch for me.
Do you have spare processors to use or anything? Or do you have other ways of updating it? Yea, when I first saw your posts and profile you do look like a good person and what not, it's just the whole random person on the internet kind of thing, plus im new to the forums. By the way, do you charge people to do it?

Last edited by Neil90; August 28, 2007 at 07:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2007, 07:57 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,244

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
sorry, i just assume everyone knows me. as jdrom17 said, i am a reviewer here as well as other places and have been in the overclocking community for years. trust me, if you need a BIOS update, it isn't a problem...i do this for a living, everything from build systems to bench under sub-zero cooling.

sometimes when people openly offer good deeds on forums you need to be cautious but this isn't one of those times, just a computer guy offering another computer guy who happens to live in the same city a solid. ask anyone here, at OCX, XS, O2, PlanetAMD64...they'll vouch for me.
Do not trust him! I am Kidding.
He good man trust me.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes