Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2007, 04:02 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yep.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2007, 04:28 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Thanks to you and Super' for the Memtest link. I will surely use it. Is it as reliable as Memtest86, in finding errors?
it is a lot better than Memtest86 for testing stability for memory. if your overclocking or playing with timings, i have found HCI Memtest to be one of the hardest stability tests for memory. many configurations will pass Memtest86 in DOS for hours on end and spit errors in Windows with HCI Memtest within a few minutes.

with that said, i still always start preliminary stability testing with dual 32M SPi...i love my SPi. but after initial results are found, for 24/7 stability, a heavy dose of HCI is a must along with a whole suite of other testing.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2007, 05:11 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Looking forward for some more results!
__________________
• - Asus P8Z68-V PRO
• - Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
• - Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
• - 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
• - Ultra X3 1000 Watt
• - Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
• - Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
• - Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
• - CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
• - Dell UltraSharp 24''
• - Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2007, 09:27 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Right now I am trying to get my hands on a beta BIOS that might make DRAM freq work. If I cant find one soon or figure out how to change mem freq, I will consider RMA (before vmodding). Some others that own the board say dram freq works in black slots but not yellow, but I have the same issue in both.

Maybe Ill see what kinda 32M i can get at 3600 to amuse me for now heh. :p
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2007, 11:51 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

So I called ASUS today and they tell me that only Kingston DDR2 mem is supported by the board lol. So apparently because my D9GMH is Mushkin and Crucial and not Kingston I'm SOL for support (even though it is the same fing chips!). Ridiculous.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2007, 12:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
So I called ASUS today and they tell me that only Kingston DDR2 mem is supported by the board lol. So apparently because my D9GMH is Mushkin and Crucial and not Kingston I'm SOL for support (even though it is the same fing chips!). Ridiculous.
Holy cwap!!!!!

Talk about clueless!!!!!!!

Guess this board can only be sold as a board / ram bundle......
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2007, 12:52 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yeah the thing is I know plenty of people that can get their mem freq to work, with various mems so its probably a board/BIOS issue. They just trying to weasel their way out of support. I am going up the ladder a bit to see what I can make happen.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2007, 01:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

I hope you have better luck as you go further up the chain.

What a boneheaded answer.

A decision like that (if it sticks) is a sure-fire deathwish for any company that wants to sell boards to enthusiasts.

Recovery from something like this would require every new board they issue to have a "tested & proven memory" list which includes all possible makes/models of memory before folks would be willing to take a chance on the boards' compatibility.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2007, 01:14 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yeah this manufacturer approved mem list is BS. There should be a chip compatibility list. Its not like Mushkin does something to the Micron D9GMH chips that Kingston does not that would make the mem incompatible… I listed off the types of chips I tried and she didn’t have a clue what I was talking about. She just asks were they Kingston or elllpeeeda? If not, its not "supported". Elpida is a chip manufacturer like micron, while Kingston is a mem manufacturer, not even the same thing..

Sorry, Ill quit ranting hehe.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2007, 02:17 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Sorry, Ill quit ranting hehe.
yeah cut it out already

what i think Eldonko is trying to say is...
anyone want to buy a mint Asus P5K-C that clocks like a rocket




^^sarcasm for those that don't know me
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB/WTT: ASUS P5KC for 680i or 780i motherboard Jamz Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 17, 2008 06:34 AM
Asus P5KC Worth It? BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 5 February 4, 2008 10:33 AM
memtest86 ram testing skyline510 RAM 4 December 14, 2007 07:54 AM
Help overclocking E6600 on Asus P5KC Jamz Troubleshooting 0 December 14, 2007 07:49 AM
ASUS P5KC. Any information? Mibs CPU's and Motherboards 15 August 12, 2007 03:11 PM