Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2009, 10:24 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default A trade : should i or not ?

Q6600 for e2180 + $60 or no ?
I have to buy thermal paste as well .. so that'll cost another $10.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2009, 10:44 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Unless the 2180 was a seriously amazing clocker that you were putting to use, it sounds pretty reasonable to me.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2009, 10:57 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,514

My System Specs

Default

Sounds pretty good to me. (which direction is the trade going in?)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2009, 11:07 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

I'm sending off the Q6600 and recieving the e2180 +cash .
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 04:01 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayen View Post
I'm sending off the Q6600 and recieving the e2180 +cash .
Ah, my bad. Not so sure, tbh. If you absolutely don't need the extra two cores, and you're looking for a minimal thermal envelope, fine. But I don't believe the E2180 has much more overclocking headroom (despite the higher multi), and if you use the power saving functions, the Q6600's are still half-decent for power/heat.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 04:33 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

no i would not unless your goal is to get rid of any quad you own for a dual
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 02:17 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,701

My System Specs

Default

Hah, if you really hate your quad, I'll give you an e2140 + $60 + thermal paste for your quad... ;)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 02:20 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I wouldnt do it, I like my q6600
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 02:44 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

I will never get rid of my golden q6600 runs too good
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 04:34 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
Hah, if you really hate your quad, I'll give you an e2140 + $60 + thermal paste for your quad... ;)
Make a deal revolving that xfx 4870, and possibly i'll think.

Q6600 runs like gold here too, just well, my computer as a whole is sluggish for some reason.
Possibly viruses, but i'm too young to watch pr0n .

And my HDD are slow, takes me 10 minutes to boot up fully, so that i can actually open an application, etc.

So i was thinking "my old computer was this slow, might as well down to some cheaper dual" .
Though i'm not sure what the issue is , cause i'm super nooob!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Gotten fyshawk Buy/Sell & Trade 9 May 26, 2010 11:14 AM
Trade it up! But what for? AmuseMe Video Cards 14 April 26, 2009 09:25 PM
Trade deadline Eldonko Hockey 47 March 9, 2009 10:39 AM
Is this a 'trade gone bad'? morphine Off Topic 25 February 5, 2009 03:18 PM