Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2009, 03:42 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default how to check if CPU performing up to par?

I have been using my HTPC for the last couple of weeks and it seems to bog down freez up like my old P$ used to do ,how can I tell if this AMD athlon 64 x2 5600+ ( 4 gb ddr2 800 ram)is working like it should.
when ever I downlaod more then three torrents at a time the system starts to lag. at first I thought that it was because of windows 7 so I rebooted into xp and tried and still the same thing. not sure if this is normal or not . how do I check for things like if both cores are working , and whatever else I can check for
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2009, 03:51 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

sounds like a hard drive problem. check under task manger to make sure both cores are on
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2009, 03:53 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

when I open up task manager I don't see where I can check to see which cores are on where do I see that in task manager?
hmm I wonder if it has anything to do with the cool and quiet settings for AMD

Last edited by Shadowmeph; September 15, 2009 at 04:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2009, 05:01 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

yes you can see it under performance/ plus you can check affinity if you right click a processes or service
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2009, 05:03 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

You should see two graphs in the Performance tab of Task Manager. If not, you'll need to go to your BIOS and enable the second core.

It also sounds like a HDD problem too. Make sure you clean all the crap off of it with software like CCleaner and SUPERAntiSpyware, and run a virus scan. Then defrag your disk. Try reinstalling your torrent application as well and set its priority to low.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2009, 05:16 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

there we go ok found it and yes they are both working thanx .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2009, 09:19 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

What happened? You can download the Dual Core Optimizer from AMD... Just google: Dual COre optimizer AMD
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Price Check majestikk Off Topic 1 July 31, 2009 03:44 PM
Spec check cork45 Water Cooling 17 May 13, 2009 06:20 AM
ASUS Unleashes Highest Performing Enthusiast Motherboard Lithotech Press Releases & Tech News 46 November 1, 2008 03:38 PM
Check this out... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 October 3, 2007 07:45 PM
ATI HD 2900 XT 512 vs NVIDIA 8800GTS 320 revue par les Crevettes Folles de Belgique Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 5 July 9, 2007 01:31 PM