Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 08:28 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default is a quad core phenom or phenom2 better then intel dual core?

I am really new to the AMDs and i am not sure what works with which board . to me AMDs have so many board it confuses me.
and since most AMDs are cheaper ( at least I think that they are) I was wonder if a quad core phenom or phenom2 better then intel dual core? I ask this because I was thinking of moving up to a quad core CPU but looking at the prices of Intel quad cores that are around the 2.6.3 ghz rand ..they are really expensive. I could probably get a decent AMD quad CPU for the same price as a Intel dual core, this is why I asked the question. I do have a amd Athon 64x2 5600+ but that thing runs about the same as my old P4 3ghz cpu.
where can I find info on a good mix of Motherboard and cpu ( AMD) because I am thinking of going AMD if they are decent in price as well as performance
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 08:33 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

AMD 720BE is about the same as your E8400.
Btw, the original Phenoms were crap, Phenom II's are better :)
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 08:43 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default

Phenom II's are very good.
X2 550 i'd say is equal to an e8400, at much less of a price.

X4's 955 & 965 are pretty damn nice, with both being BE's as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 08:43 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

I would think an Athlon X2 5600+ to be quite a bit better than a Pentium 4 3.0.

I can't tell you how my Phenom II X4 940 performs compared to a Q9400 or to a Q9550. But I am very satisfied by its performance.

As JC said, the original Phenoms weren't too good, but the Phenom II are quite competitive in terms of price/performance.

As for Mobo.

AM3 mobo will require DDR3 RAM and AM3 CPU
AM2+ mobo will work with Phenom II(even the AM3) and require DDR2 RAM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 09:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Original Phenoms were much slower than Core 2 CPUs. Phenom II CPUs are a bit slower clock for clock but are pretty close. I would personally choose a quad-core Phenom II over a dual-core Core 2 CPU if they were the same price, but depending on what you do with your PC, you might benefit more from the faster single and dual-threaded performance of the Core 2 CPU than you would from the extra two cores of the Phenom II.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 09:23 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,689

My System Specs

Default

It really depends on what you're doing I'd say. If you're doing a lot of heavy multitasking, then you'd be better off with a Phenom II. Or if you do a lot of graphic design or modeling/animation that has you running multiple programs and transferring between them, then again you'd benefit from the quad core setup. But for most single, focused applications, you'll probably see a very slight increase from an e8400 or better Core2.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 07:27 AM
kingnubian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 305
Default

Mulithreaded apps or multi core aware applications will benefit more from a quad over a dual all things being equal. For day to day computing honestly I don't think that there is a difference. Still the Quad may be a better "future looking" investment as more & more apps are being designed to take full advantage of any additional cores.
__________________
GOD Is Good
________________________________________

Intel i7-2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Asus Sabertooth Z77
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z (1866MhZ CAS9)
NZXT Kraken X60 CPU Cooler
2x Sandisk Extreme 240GB SSD (RAID 0)
Seagate 7200.12 500gig HD
Galaxy GTX660Ti 3GB
LG DVDR
NZXT Phantom 630 Case
Antec TruPower New 750W Power Supply
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2009, 05:09 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 72
Default

if I were you I would pick up an amd 940 be quad core and a gigabyte ud4p (ddr3 edition for future proofing.

that would be budget conscious and very effective IMHO
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2009, 06:29 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston BC
Posts: 413
Default

I believe 940 only has a DDR2 controller. You must be reffering to the 945 955 or 965.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2009, 07:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snoosebum View Post
I believe 940 only has a DDR2 controller. You must be reffering to the 945 955 or 965.
yeah srry my mistake I didn't know that. Now I do
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 vs Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Hanibal{CA} New Builds 18 August 10, 2009 07:53 PM
[WTB] Core 2 Duo, Quad, Phenom phikshin Buy/Sell & Trade 3 January 16, 2009 06:01 PM
[WTB] Quad or high end Dual Core mailaw Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 28, 2008 03:18 PM
WTB/WTT: LGA775 Quad Core/Dual Core Chilly Buy/Sell & Trade 7 November 10, 2008 11:46 PM
FS - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 4MB L2 pat767 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 22, 2008 09:00 AM