Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   CPU's and Motherboards (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/cpus-motherboards/)
-   -   is a quad core phenom or phenom2 better then intel dual core? (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/cpus-motherboards/22714-quad-core-phenom-phenom2-better-then-intel-dual-core.html)

Shadowmeph September 3, 2009 08:28 PM

is a quad core phenom or phenom2 better then intel dual core?

I am really new to the AMDs and i am not sure what works with which board . to me AMDs have so many board it confuses me.
and since most AMDs are cheaper ( at least I think that they are) I was wonder if a quad core phenom or phenom2 better then intel dual core? I ask this because I was thinking of moving up to a quad core CPU but looking at the prices of Intel quad cores that are around the 2.6.3 ghz rand ..they are really expensive. I could probably get a decent AMD quad CPU for the same price as a Intel dual core, this is why I asked the question. I do have a amd Athon 64x2 5600+ but that thing runs about the same as my old P4 3ghz cpu.
where can I find info on a good mix of Motherboard and cpu ( AMD) because I am thinking of going AMD if they are decent in price as well as performance

jcmaz September 3, 2009 08:33 PM

AMD 720BE is about the same as your E8400.
Btw, the original Phenoms were crap, Phenom II's are better :)

Kayen September 3, 2009 08:43 PM

Phenom II's are very good.
X2 550 i'd say is equal to an e8400, at much less of a price.

X4's 955 & 965 are pretty damn nice, with both being BE's as well.

Kilauea September 3, 2009 08:43 PM

I would think an Athlon X2 5600+ to be quite a bit better than a Pentium 4 3.0.

I can't tell you how my Phenom II X4 940 performs compared to a Q9400 or to a Q9550. But I am very satisfied by its performance.

As JC said, the original Phenoms weren't too good, but the Phenom II are quite competitive in terms of price/performance.

As for Mobo.