Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2009, 09:51 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,305

My System Specs

Default is a AMD 64x2 5600 2.9G am2 a true dual core?

since my MB on my intel box is trashed, I have been using my HTPC as my main computer and one thing that I have noticed is how sluggish this thing is the HTPC has a AMD 64x2 5600 2.9G am2 cpu with ddr 2 6400 2x2g ram and my main box had what is in my sig, I have noticed that this amd box is allot more slow then my main box so I am wondering why this is , is this thing have 2 cores or is it just an advertising gimmick, the OS and everything between the two pcs are basically the same except one is amd and one is intel.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2009, 09:59 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

It is a dual core but it is wayyyyy slower than ur E8400 b/c The Athlon 64X2 is older. If you look at the HWC CPU charts, most of the Core 2 Duo series will beat a Athlon 64X2
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2009, 11:33 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,305

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
It is a dual core but it is wayyyyy slower than ur E8400 b/c The Athlon 64X2 is older. If you look at the HWC CPU charts, most of the Core 2 Duo series will beat a Athlon 64X2
Thats what I though hehe well I guess that it is good enough for my HTPC then.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2009, 11:41 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

What are you doing that makes you find it sluggish? I find my sister's AMD X2 3800+ @ 2.6Ghz to be almost as fast as my own sig in rig when doing everyday normal things. As for games, it's not bad either.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2009, 12:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

The Athlon X2 5600+ came out the 12th of December 2006 while the E8400 came out the 7th of January 2008. That's a little more than a year difference. If to that you add the fact that even in 2006 the Core 2 Duos manufactured were more powerful than the equivalent X2, then you are in right to think that the difference would be more present a year later.

However, the X2 5600+ is not bad at all depending on what tasks you ask from it and yes it is a dual core.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] HTPC - AMD 64x2 2.6 ghz quikgp Buy/Sell & Trade 4 June 15, 2009 07:37 PM
Need help Identifying a AMD athlon 64x2 CPU Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 5 April 27, 2009 09:58 AM
Is AMD duron single or dual core ? CactusJoe Troubleshooting 13 March 3, 2009 07:54 PM
[FS] AMD DUAL CORE system for sale norm43 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 February 10, 2009 04:40 AM
LF: AMD Athlon Dual Core (S939) Lpfan4ever Buy/Sell & Trade 25 October 15, 2008 03:15 PM