Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 02:06 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

compactulator
discombobulator
refrecternator

[F7]

CAPACITOR! THATS IT!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 02:42 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
compactulator
discombobulator
refrecternator

[F7]

CAPACITOR! THATS IT!
no it is the FLUX CAPACITOR my answer to anything I don't know
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 06:22 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default

well I think that I am going to try and use my soldering iron and remove the to pins that are in the board the soldering iron I have is a cheap one but it has the very sharp point so it should be very easy to heat the pins enough to pull them out. Now if I could find a place that sells "capacitors" in Abbotsford then I will replace it but I haven't found a place so far :(. what would be a good search enmgine to use to search for that type of business?
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 06:34 PM
Safearus's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SSM, Ontario
Posts: 316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
well I think that I am going to try and use my soldering iron and remove the to pins that are in the board the soldering iron I have is a cheap one but it has the very sharp point so it should be very easy to heat the pins enough to pull them out. Now if I could find a place that sells "capacitors" in Abbotsford then I will replace it but I haven't found a place so far :(. what would be a good search enmgine to use to search for that type of business?
I would advise just sending it in as it is to be repaired. Rather than possibly causing more issues with this board.
__________________
Current Rig: "Έρεβος" -- English: "Erebus" ::
ASUS R.O.G. Crosshair III 790FX
AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.6 Ghz (Feck...)
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Thermaltake Armor
Corsair TX850W
Mushkin HP3 2x2GB DDR3
Samsung SATA DVD-RW

MSI GeForce GTX 275 Twin Frozr
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 06:39 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default

Shadowmeph, DO YOU EVEN KNOW which hole is what (positive/negative) so you DO NOT blow the POLARIZED cap. If you DO NOT have a clue what i am talking about DO NOT REPAIR IT YOURSELF.
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 06:45 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Shadowmeph, DO YOU EVEN KNOW which hole is what (positive/negative) so you DO NOT blow the POLARIZED cap. If you DO NOT have a clue what i am talking about DO NOT REPAIR IT YOURSELF.
actually I do because the other capacitors of the same type are all situated in the same direction, they also have half colored top, red on one side and silver on the other also the writing on top of the capacitor all face the same way.
I contacted Asus and they told me to contact mikes computer so I am SOL.
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 07:23 PM
Safearus's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SSM, Ontario
Posts: 316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
actually I do because the other capacitors of the same type are all situated in the same direction, they also have half colored top, red on one side and silver on the other also the writing on top of the capacitor all face the same way.
I contacted Asus and they told me to contact mikes computer so I am SOL.
IMO you should have an electronics tech do the soldering for you. These motherboards have very small tracings and if you look at the solder jobs currently on them, it's all machined. It would take a ton of skill to apply new solder and not accidentally short-out other traces/components.
__________________
Current Rig: "Έρεβος" -- English: "Erebus" ::
ASUS R.O.G. Crosshair III 790FX
AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.6 Ghz (Feck...)
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Thermaltake Armor
Corsair TX850W
Mushkin HP3 2x2GB DDR3
Samsung SATA DVD-RW

MSI GeForce GTX 275 Twin Frozr
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 07:29 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 618

My System Specs

Default

I second the motion on not doing it yourself. A multilayer board can be a very difficult thing to work on properly too. What is a Multilayer PCB?
As stated, you also need to know the polarity of the cap, and you could disbond layers on the board with that soldering iron if you apply too much heat. Unless you have proper training and equipment I would highly recommend against trying this yourself.
You really need this stuff - Pace Direct - Conductive Rework Systems to do the job right!
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 07:37 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I say GO FOR IT!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 08:36 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

if you even put the iron near the board you could risk damaging components... and unless you can make micro globs and be 100% still you will fry the board. ask ASUS is they will repair it for a fee.
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We Broke #150 top spots barrier Mr. Gruntsworthy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 March 31, 2009 11:45 AM
Water line broke and then anouther line broke muse108dc Off Topic 3 March 28, 2009 07:34 AM
Broke Asrock X48? SugarJ CPU's and Motherboards 4 September 23, 2008 09:48 AM
One of my HDDs broke tom.mullie Storage 4 June 6, 2008 04:31 PM
Just broke 100 K this weekend! zlojack HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 May 19, 2008 06:53 PM