Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 04:31 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

hmm... i wouldn't try it... try to contact ASUS directly maybe say it was a honest mistake... but i dunno technically you damaged it and usually that stuff aint covered. In the future be very careful, just think of it as open brain surgery, breaking of brain chunks isnt good.

also... dont mutilate things to get a new cap... just see if a pro store can replace it, it will be hard though... and i wouldn't trust the fix.
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 04:36 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
how do I figure out which way does it go on? also where do I find a compasitor I have a few old video card laying around hehe
Sounds like I would go to an electronics shop (a place that repairs televisions, etc) and see if they can do this for you. You need the proper one, and should not go around ripping off random pieces to try.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 04:38 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Sounds like I would go to an electronics shop (a place that repairs televisions, etc) and see if they can do this for you. You need the proper one, and should not go around ripping off random pieces to try.

i wouldnt trust a fix me up... honestly i would send it to ASUS and pay them a repair fee or whatever they want. home fixes done poorly could lead to house fires.... burned out cards... and such
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 05:19 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

I think that I would rather have asus do it . man I am having a run of Bad luck first my mother board goes and in that process it possibly took out my bfg 260 maxcore then I bought a new mb and put everything together. then yesterday bought another mb for my htpc replaced the hd3870 with an HD3450 then this morning I pull the nvid 7900 card out so I could put the 3870hd in there but the stupid compasitor breaks off , Asus has really bad mb designs AMD or intel because the placement of things I could barely get that 3870 on either the amd or intel board even the AMD asus bought barely and I mean barely allow rear clearance of the 3450 video card. if I have to buy another board it isn't going to be asus unless they change the designs hehe. what the how am I typing on an angle hehe .
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 05:26 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I think that I would rather have asus do it . man I am having a run of Bad luck first my mother board goes and in that process it possibly took out my bfg 260 maxcore then I bought a new mb and put everything together. then yesterday bought another mb for my htpc replaced the hd3870 with an HD3450 then this morning I pull the nvid 7900 card out so I could put the 3870hd in there but the stupid compasitor breaks off , Asus has really bad mb designs AMD or intel because the placement of things I could barely get that 3870 on either the amd or intel board even the AMD asus bought barely and I mean barely allow rear clearance of the 3450 video card. if I have to buy another board it isn't going to be asus unless they change the designs hehe. what the how am I typing on an angle hehe .
eh iv had bad luck to.. specially with my current problem... but keep your head up, itll all work out and youll love your new rig!
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 05:28 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I think that I would rather have asus do it . .
Just call them even if you have to pay them which i doubt. I would rather have them fix it like you said
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 09:25 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

This probably will not be covered by warranty as it is physical abuse/damage that would cause a capacitor to break off and nothing else. Your best bet is what chris said, asus will charge you regardless of what story you said.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 09:47 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

Shadowmeph,
If Asus tries to ream you for the repair, get a local electronics repair shop to replace and solder an appropriate capacitor.
I would not allow a computer shop touch a mb of mine - soldering skills would be suspect.
From Asus point of view, your mb warranty is most likely f****d.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 10:03 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HalifaxPete View Post
Shadowmeph,
If Asus tries to ream you for the repair, get a local electronics repair shop to replace and solder an appropriate capacitor.
I would not allow a computer shop touch a mb of mine - soldering skills would be suspect.
From Asus point of view, your mb warranty is most likely f****d.
Even if your warranty is done, they may still repair it for a fee just like sony and ps3's.
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 10:34 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

CAPACITOR
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We Broke #150 top spots barrier Mr. Gruntsworthy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 March 31, 2009 12:45 PM
Water line broke and then anouther line broke muse108dc Off Topic 3 March 28, 2009 08:34 AM
Broke Asrock X48? SugarJ CPU's and Motherboards 4 September 23, 2008 10:48 AM
One of my HDDs broke tom.mullie Storage 4 June 6, 2008 05:31 PM
Just broke 100 K this weekend! zlojack HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 May 19, 2008 07:53 PM