Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 07:48 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,544

My System Specs

Default

5ghz is a stretch for current 920's on anything but LN2 and above. Water you can hit 4-4.2ish pritty reliably with low heat (my 4ghz loads at 62c). From what I have seen around the net, the i7 D0's cap out regardless of heat/volts between 4 and 4.4ghz. To go above that, you have to crank the volts and get it colder then water can do.

So, it sounds like the architectural limitations of the i7 are at play, limiting it to 4ish.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 08:01 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

I heard that Intel are phasing out the 920's before the i5 comes out and the new i7's are going to be more expensive. Not sure if it true.

Anyone word on when Gulftown is going to be released?
Attached Images
 
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 08:08 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0bc View Post
I heard that Intel are phasing out the 920's before the i5 comes out and the new i7's are going to be more expensive. Not sure if it true.

Anyone word on when Gulftown is going to be released?
Holy jesus, that the hell is that?..

Sagath: what about TEC?
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 08:18 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,544

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overclocker~4.1 View Post
Holy jesus, that the hell is that?..

Sagath: what about TEC?
I really couldnt say first hand. I'm not familiar with the performance capabilities of them. There is a couple guys on the forums who are. One of them is selling his Boreas on the BST forum right now.

My gut says it would meet somewhere half way between high-end air/water and LN2...but dont hold me to that at all because its just a guess.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 09:17 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
I really couldn't say first hand. I'm not familiar with the performance capabilities of them. There is a couple guys on the forums who are. One of them is selling his Boreas on the BST forum right now.

My gut says it would meet somewhere half way between high-end air/water and LN2...but dont hold me to that at all because its just a guess.
TEC is only good if the water kit has mass amounts of TEC coolers on it, most cheaper TEC kits contain insufficient amount to sufficiently cool the i7... Do not but a CoolIT...
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro - Stock
15" Macbook Pro Retina - Stock
13" Macbook Air - Stock
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 12:01 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToXic View Post
TEC is only good if the water kit has mass amounts of TEC coolers on it, most cheaper TEC kits contain insufficient amount to sufficiently cool the i7... Do not but a CoolIT...
So if i TEC'd say, my rad. It would help chill the coolant?

I would use a PhaseChange device, but i have no clue how to go about that, I even have a freezer i can use or a mini fridge.... would love a how to to do that... it would be fun.
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 12:12 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Freezer - mini-fridges don't work. They are designed to hold a temperature, with no added heat dump.

A modded CoolIt Boreas would be interesting to try on an i7, to see how much load the unit can handle while cooling at 100%. But condensation would be an issue.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 12:34 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overclocker~4.1 View Post
Yeh, i diddn't think they would be getting rid of the 1366 socket so fast. especially since that was the 775 killer. and i took a closer look at those I5's (or whatever they are called) and they aren't impressive.. at all. only "neat" thing i saw was a mAXT board with SLI...

After I learn QPI, I want to push the I7 to 5Ghz on liquid. With my QX9650 I got my computer to boot into windows at 4.9, but then immediately crashed...so i am hoping this miracle chip will excell.
Who said they were getting rid of the socket? I didn't see any word on that. The 1366 socket is the only socket that will get 6-core chips and beyond. It is meant as a workstation server socket, much like the 771 socket was.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 12:35 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,544

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
But condensation would be an issue.
Shouldnt you be using Artists Eraser with this kind of setup anyways, for exactly this reason?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Encorp's Cosmos S and i7 965 Project encorp Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 89 July 21, 2010 03:55 PM
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Makes Official Debut jcmaz Press Releases & Tech News 12 August 13, 2009 04:12 PM
Comment Thread: A Summer Road Trip with the Intel Core i7 975 EE 3oh6 CPU's and Motherboards 19 June 11, 2009 10:00 AM
Anyone want to school me on the 975 chipset? Nodscene CPU's and Motherboards 4 December 9, 2008 06:03 AM