Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2009, 11:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Default Asus P6T power up with button on case

It powers up when I press the button on my cm storm scout about 10 or so times rapidly. I have tried to press and hold the power button and once it powered up after the 3rd or 4th attempt. I checked to see if I connected the wires to the mobo properly and they are. At my first boot of vista at the desktop I press the power button on the case and I remember some drivers loading which helped otherwise I had to use the power button on the mobo. Anyone know what the problem is?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2009, 11:50 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,468

My System Specs

Default

Disconnect the case 'power on wire' from the mobo, and use a jumper instead. Just place the jumper on the - and + headers. If the computer powers on, then you have a funky power switch on your case.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2009, 06:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Disconnect the case 'power on wire' from the mobo, and use a jumper instead. Just place the jumper on the - and + headers. If the computer powers on, then you have a funky power switch on your case.
should I be pluging the jumper in while I have power going to the board? Also did the jumper I need to use come with the board, I am not sure if I have one or what kind it is?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2009, 07:54 AM
Sandro_Bit's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 157
Default

jumper means you need to run another set of temporary wiring (not your main set you have now)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2009, 08:17 AM
Safearus's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SSM, Ontario
Posts: 316
Default

Basically what's being said is: Connect the pins directly via a conductive object (such as a short wire). If your computer turns on, it's a problem with the button on your case or the wiring going to said button
__________________
[SIZE=2]Current Project: "i5 Rig"
CPU: Intel Core i5-6600K 3.5GHz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Motherboard: Asus ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO ALPHA
Memory: G.Skill TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200
Storage: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB M.2-2280
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM
Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Strix
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 w/Window
Power Supply: Silverstone Strider Gold S 850W
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Rampage II GENE vs Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Rocco_360 CPU's and Motherboards 3 February 26, 2010 01:04 PM
Need help with Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Answerzz CPU's and Motherboards 26 April 26, 2009 09:23 AM
Asus Rampage II GENE vs Asus P6T Deluxe V2..which one? Rocco_360 New Builds 3 April 4, 2009 08:29 PM
Asus P6T ... What's the difference? Bones CPU's and Motherboards 6 February 27, 2009 11:24 PM
power/reset button and cable magictorch Cases 2 November 28, 2007 01:09 PM