Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2009, 11:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Default Asus P6T power up with button on case

It powers up when I press the button on my cm storm scout about 10 or so times rapidly. I have tried to press and hold the power button and once it powered up after the 3rd or 4th attempt. I checked to see if I connected the wires to the mobo properly and they are. At my first boot of vista at the desktop I press the power button on the case and I remember some drivers loading which helped otherwise I had to use the power button on the mobo. Anyone know what the problem is?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2009, 11:50 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Disconnect the case 'power on wire' from the mobo, and use a jumper instead. Just place the jumper on the - and + headers. If the computer powers on, then you have a funky power switch on your case.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2009, 06:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Disconnect the case 'power on wire' from the mobo, and use a jumper instead. Just place the jumper on the - and + headers. If the computer powers on, then you have a funky power switch on your case.
should I be pluging the jumper in while I have power going to the board? Also did the jumper I need to use come with the board, I am not sure if I have one or what kind it is?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2009, 07:54 AM
Sandro_Bit's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 157
Default

jumper means you need to run another set of temporary wiring (not your main set you have now)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2009, 08:17 AM
Safearus's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SSM, Ontario
Posts: 316
Default

Basically what's being said is: Connect the pins directly via a conductive object (such as a short wire). If your computer turns on, it's a problem with the button on your case or the wiring going to said button
__________________
Current Rig: "Έρεβος" -- English: "Erebus" ::
ASUS R.O.G. Crosshair III 790FX
AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.6 Ghz (Feck...)
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Thermaltake Armor
Corsair TX850W
Mushkin HP3 2x2GB DDR3
Samsung SATA DVD-RW

MSI GeForce GTX 275 Twin Frozr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Rampage II GENE vs Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Rocco_360 CPU's and Motherboards 3 February 26, 2010 12:04 PM
Need help with Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Answerzz CPU's and Motherboards 26 April 26, 2009 09:23 AM
Asus Rampage II GENE vs Asus P6T Deluxe V2..which one? Rocco_360 New Builds 3 April 4, 2009 08:29 PM
Asus P6T ... What's the difference? Bones CPU's and Motherboards 6 February 27, 2009 10:24 PM
power/reset button and cable magictorch Cases 2 November 28, 2007 12:09 PM