Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 04:51 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

As Sagath said a bios flash may help. I have experienced lower temps and higher overclocks on a couple of my mobos after flashing bios to newest one.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 05:20 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

How do I flash my bios?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 05:31 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

I actually have the latest bios for my motherboard, which is the "FB" one.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 05:37 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

wow, I just resetted all the changes iv made in bios to default (now its 2.8 ghz like normal) and I am still getting bad temperatures 37c idle and like up to 70 on prime 95 and like up to 80 on intel burn test.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 05:41 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Op nevermind sorry false alarm the temps are normal on stock settings I guess it was my overclock. But thats still strange a vcore of 1.3375 shouldnt get me to 80c on intel burn test before it would only get me tp 60c max...
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 05:57 PM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 254

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
No its actually COMLETELY stable like its 24 hours prime stable and 12 hours occt stable (tool azy to test it for more in occt) (prime95 was tested with blend)
But yeah I idle at like 38-40C and load at liek 60-67C and I rarely hit 70C I mostly load at like 62C though. Im really counting on my thermal paste to be liek having a "cure time" but the ncix member reviews on MX 2 say that there isnt a cure time, but if I remember correctly, last time when my build was open air it started off with high temperatures and then after a week or so the temps went down. Anyways, Im sure counting on that. It could also be the fact that I now have a case, but that doesnt seem right because my case seems to have quite good airflow by the looks of it (antec 1200 with stock 5x 120mm and 1x 200mm and I also added a 120mm yate on the side as intake and another 120mm yate on the middle hdd cage as an intake.
(It could also be the fact that I now have a case)

If the Nvidia mobo was open air sure it"s gonna run cooler!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 06:15 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

over 10c cooler...?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 06:40 PM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 254

My System Specs

Default

Take the side panel off the 1200 check temps. Big difference open air and case air.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 06:40 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,485

My System Specs

Default

Open case? god yes, it could run 10c cooler...

I would say thats your issue right there.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2009, 07:16 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Yeha i opened the side panel and there is no difference. And even if open case or not makes such a big difference, how come like almost everybody else with a q9550 had liek the same temps as I did when I had open case while they have it in a case. And even if I have a case I shouldnt be getting like 80C on load on intel burn test with jsut 1.33vcore, 1.4 vtt, 1.5 pll, and 1.3 MCH core.

Anyways, I lowered my vcore to 1.26250 and various other things and I am getting 74C MAX in intel burn test and it said i was stable after I ran it with like 50tests or whatever you call them. is 50 enough? Is 74c max too hot for intel burn test? I also get like 65C average in prime95 small ftp and 63c average in prime 95 blend. Are these temps fine now? BTW, when I lower vcore to 1.25 it bsods in intel burn test.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU temp vs Core temp phil3_66666 Air Cooling 4 July 31, 2009 09:39 PM
[WTB] WTF/WTTF C2D E4xxx series CPU grinder Buy/Sell & Trade 3 March 17, 2009 02:31 PM
WTF: X38 Mobo (Preferably Maximus Formula) Jackquelegs Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 5, 2008 09:39 AM
CPU Temp?? BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 7 August 22, 2007 02:19 PM
CPU temp or Core temp? E6420 NOOB Delavan CPU's and Motherboards 18 May 28, 2007 05:07 AM