Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2009, 01:11 AM
electronique's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default what do u think of my OC on C2D?

**pc specs = my signature / profile**

I wanted to overclock my E7200 (2.53Ghz) to obtain a decent speed, but not crossing the boundaries, so that I can use it 24/7 easily and not have to pay twice the bill on energy.
Please tell me if I missed something or if I can do more!


1.The Steps:

a) moved the jumper on my mobo from 1066 fsb to 1333 fsb, as advised in the manual for a better OC. There is also a move to 1600 fsb for more speed. I don`t know if I crossed the line and if I should set the jumper to 1600. ( ?? )

b) mods:

CPU Frequency - 337 ****standard was 266
PCIE - 100
RATIO CMOS (multiplier) - 9.5
Enhance Halt State - Disabled
CPU Thermal Throttling - Enabled
No-Execute Memory Protection - Disabled
Speed-Step - Disabled
C-State - Disabled

CPU Voltage - 1.200v ****standard was 1.125v
RAM Voltage - 1.96v @ 4-4-4-12 / 809mhz ****standard was 1.90v @ 4-4-4-12 / 800mhz [should i make any ram modifications like timings, voltage, frequency?]


RealTemp after 1h: 50*C IDLE @ 27*C Room Temp
CoreTemp: VID on both cores: 1.1375 / M0 Revision


c) pics:
Attached Images
 

Last edited by electronique; August 9, 2009 at 01:12 AM. Reason: specs
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2009, 07:48 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

If you are using DDR2 800 or 667 stick with the 1066 jumper and don't change memory voltage unless needed. Out of that no one of us can really comment about it because each chip and each board have different OC capabilities. Try setting and try again till it's stable and give you what you want.

Ask for more
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2009, 08:01 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

We need to know your load temps. Idle temps mean nothing in this world. You don't want your CPU to go kaput when you're folding or playing games. Run Prime95 Small FFT or a SMP version of Folding@Home for a good half hour to ensure short-term stability with higher temps. You might be able to run stock voltages on that OC as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2009, 09:50 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

whats linpak, OCCT and Intel burn test, super pi show for a few
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2009, 11:04 AM
electronique's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default

ok, thanks for ur replies. After 2h of playing Anno 1404 with max details, the cpu was @ 60*C (full load)
I`ll go later with Orthos/Prime/SuperPi and i`ll post some results.
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 OC
cooler: AC Freezer 7 Pro
mobo: ASRock P45R2000
ram: 4 GB A-Data Vitesta @ CL4 / 800mhz default
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2009, 10:07 AM
electronique's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Sorry for the stupid delay, i forgot :D

So, after 2h of Prim95 the max temp was 71*C, and the average I think was 69*C. (blend test - ram & cpu)
I`ll decrease the cpu voltage to see if my temp goes down a bit. (the fsp jumper is still @ 1333. It will overkill my ram if i`ll go down to 1066 and keep the current 3200Mhz freq)
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 OC
cooler: AC Freezer 7 Pro
mobo: ASRock P45R2000
ram: 4 GB A-Data Vitesta @ CL4 / 800mhz default
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2009, 10:53 AM
curtispan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 181
Default

Not bad, but you could definitely push it further.

Here is my C2D overclock which is stable.



Still trying to get 4.0ghz stable, but I'm happy with it now. Temps idle around 22c and max out just shy of 60c.

Good luck!
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] C2D Laptop </= $700. n-sanity Buy/Sell & Trade 14 August 4, 2009 10:28 PM
[FS] C2D P35/C2D Bundle: E8400 w/ MSI P35 Platinum $250 + Shipping arekieh Buy/Sell & Trade 8 February 26, 2009 12:04 PM
Intel C2D E8700 enaberif Rumor Mill 12 January 28, 2009 04:44 PM
[WTB] WTB: intel C2D jay51 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 January 24, 2009 01:44 PM
Lapping C2D? JayDee Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 June 30, 2007 04:05 PM