Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 03:22 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default X58 Motherboard Question

I"m upgrading my PC but can't decide on a motherboard.

What X58 boards have 2 full 16x pci-e slots when using a pci sound card.
Do some full 16x pci-e boards go to 16x,8x when using pci or just when using the third pci-e? I'm not sure.

Thanks
__________________


Last edited by r0bc; August 3, 2009 at 03:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 12:45 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

Maybe my question don't make any since.

I was looking at the EVGA Vanilla X58 but I read that the pci-e slots run:
x16
x16 (x8 if 3rd slot is occupied)
x8

I don't need tri-sli but do that mean that the second slot would be x8 if I was using the pci slot rather then the third pci-e slot and what boards are x16,x16 when using expansion slots?

.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 01:18 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

You can use PCI slots without affected how the PCI-E slots are set up. With that EVGA motherboard, you only have to worry if you are have two GPUs in the first two PCI-E slots, and put either a 3rd GPU, or a PCI-E card of some kind into the third slot.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 02:55 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

Thanks, that's what I wanted to know.

Is that the same for all boards cause I can't decide what one to get.
I like the EX58-UD5,Extreme and I also like the a couple Asus boards including the Rampage II.

I love Evga but the Classified isn't a option cause my case is to cramped. Its hard to decide. Thought I knew what I wanted until I was ready to order it
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 03:13 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

What will you be doing with the system?

If you're going with Gigabyte, have you looked at the ex58-ud4p?
From what I see it's almost the exact same board as the ud5 except for a few features (that I don't think are important but you may)... and it's $50 less
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/...ctID=2986,2958

If you don't need 6 RAM slots you could save even more and go with the ex58-ud3r.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 08:41 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

Gaming and overclocking.

About the Classified, it has 2 full 16x pci-e slots in 2 way sli.
Do it have to be slot 1 and 2? Can it be like slot 1 - 3 or 1 - 4 and still be 16x?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 12:05 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Don't quote me on this, but I believe that as long as you only have one card in either the 3rd or 4th slot, they will remain at 16x speed. I wouldn't concern yourself too much with 8x and 16x as it doesn't have that much of an effect on real world performance.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 12:05 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRox View Post
Don't quote me on this, but I believe that as long as you only have one card in either the 3rd or 4th slot, they will remain at 16x speed. I wouldn't concern yourself too much with 8x and 16x as it doesn't have that much of an effect on real world performance.
I understand that right now but maybe in 6 months 8x may affect performance....but then again probably not .

I ordered the CPU and memory last night, the motherboard is a tough one if you want SLI and use a pci slot but I'm not in a huge hurry.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 09:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Maybe you are talking about the Nvdia nf200~
Only the motherboard with nf200 can support ture 3 way SLI (x16x16x16)
I hope it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 09:08 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
What will you be doing with the system?

If you're going with Gigabyte, have you looked at the ex58-ud4p?
From what I see it's almost the exact same board as the ud5 except for a few features (that I don't think are important but you may)... and it's $50 less
GIGABYTE - Product - Motherboard - Comparison Sheet

If you don't need 6 RAM slots you could save even more and go with the ex58-ud3r.
Yep, thats why i picked the ex58-ud4p. 16x, 16x, 8x for SLI/Crossfire and its great to OC the i7 920 as well
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard Question r0bc CPU's and Motherboards 2 June 1, 2009 05:28 AM
Motherboard and thermal paste question CORE CPU's and Motherboards 8 May 23, 2009 03:12 PM
New motherboard Jonwall CPU's and Motherboards 5 October 23, 2008 04:37 PM
New motherboard Infiniti CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 30, 2008 06:55 PM
Looking for a new motherboard JD CPU's and Motherboards 1 December 30, 2007 01:14 AM