Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 03:22 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default X58 Motherboard Question

I"m upgrading my PC but can't decide on a motherboard.

What X58 boards have 2 full 16x pci-e slots when using a pci sound card.
Do some full 16x pci-e boards go to 16x,8x when using pci or just when using the third pci-e? I'm not sure.

Thanks
__________________


Last edited by r0bc; August 3, 2009 at 03:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 12:45 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

Maybe my question don't make any since.

I was looking at the EVGA Vanilla X58 but I read that the pci-e slots run:
x16
x16 (x8 if 3rd slot is occupied)
x8

I don't need tri-sli but do that mean that the second slot would be x8 if I was using the pci slot rather then the third pci-e slot and what boards are x16,x16 when using expansion slots?

.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 01:18 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

You can use PCI slots without affected how the PCI-E slots are set up. With that EVGA motherboard, you only have to worry if you are have two GPUs in the first two PCI-E slots, and put either a 3rd GPU, or a PCI-E card of some kind into the third slot.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 02:55 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

Thanks, that's what I wanted to know.

Is that the same for all boards cause I can't decide what one to get.
I like the EX58-UD5,Extreme and I also like the a couple Asus boards including the Rampage II.

I love Evga but the Classified isn't a option cause my case is to cramped. Its hard to decide. Thought I knew what I wanted until I was ready to order it
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 03:13 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

What will you be doing with the system?

If you're going with Gigabyte, have you looked at the ex58-ud4p?
From what I see it's almost the exact same board as the ud5 except for a few features (that I don't think are important but you may)... and it's $50 less
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/...ctID=2986,2958

If you don't need 6 RAM slots you could save even more and go with the ex58-ud3r.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 08:41 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

Gaming and overclocking.

About the Classified, it has 2 full 16x pci-e slots in 2 way sli.
Do it have to be slot 1 and 2? Can it be like slot 1 - 3 or 1 - 4 and still be 16x?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 12:05 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Don't quote me on this, but I believe that as long as you only have one card in either the 3rd or 4th slot, they will remain at 16x speed. I wouldn't concern yourself too much with 8x and 16x as it doesn't have that much of an effect on real world performance.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 12:05 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRox View Post
Don't quote me on this, but I believe that as long as you only have one card in either the 3rd or 4th slot, they will remain at 16x speed. I wouldn't concern yourself too much with 8x and 16x as it doesn't have that much of an effect on real world performance.
I understand that right now but maybe in 6 months 8x may affect performance....but then again probably not .

I ordered the CPU and memory last night, the motherboard is a tough one if you want SLI and use a pci slot but I'm not in a huge hurry.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 09:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Maybe you are talking about the Nvdia nf200~
Only the motherboard with nf200 can support ture 3 way SLI (x16x16x16)
I hope it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 09:08 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,821

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
What will you be doing with the system?

If you're going with Gigabyte, have you looked at the ex58-ud4p?
From what I see it's almost the exact same board as the ud5 except for a few features (that I don't think are important but you may)... and it's $50 less
GIGABYTE - Product - Motherboard - Comparison Sheet

If you don't need 6 RAM slots you could save even more and go with the ex58-ud3r.
Yep, thats why i picked the ex58-ud4p. 16x, 16x, 8x for SLI/Crossfire and its great to OC the i7 920 as well
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard Question r0bc CPU's and Motherboards 2 June 1, 2009 05:28 AM
Motherboard and thermal paste question CORE CPU's and Motherboards 8 May 23, 2009 03:12 PM
New motherboard Jonwall CPU's and Motherboards 5 October 23, 2008 04:37 PM
New motherboard Infiniti CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 30, 2008 06:55 PM
Looking for a new motherboard JD CPU's and Motherboards 1 December 30, 2007 02:14 AM